Shrimp de Jonghe I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good recipe, I would absolutly cut the wine in half next time. I used Panko bread crumbs and sauteed them first and the topping turned out crispy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made this one for myself considering I'm the only one who enjoys shrimp in my family. I rated it a four star only because, as well as others stated there is too much wine. Other then that its a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As others have noted, there is far too much wine called for in this recipe. If prepared as written, the shrimp would be swimming in it rather than being nicely baked. The amount of butter, on the other hand, is more flexible and depends on how you intend to serve this dish. Since I used this as a main course served over linguine, a little extra butter was nice. So, if one was to prepare this exactly as written it probably would be very disappointing, and only worthy of a weak three stars. Having said that, however, since recipes are only guides anyway, it would be a shame to knock this down a star or two just because of measurements easily adjusted to taste. I didn't measure at all - just arranged the shrimp in a baking dish I had greased with olive oil. Poured in just enough wine to basically cover the bottom of the dish, which I would guess was only a quarter of what was called for in the recipe. I crushed some croutons for the bread crumbs, then mixed them with enough melted butter, parsley, and garlic to the consistency I wanted, just so that it looked kind of like a coarse, wet sand. I dribbled a little extra melted butter around the shrimp in the dish, baked for the recommended baking time, arranged it over the linguine, and let me tell you it was five star delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Succulant shrimp dish. I used less wine and butter like others suggested. I also used packaged bread crumbs. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Tasty. I like how this recipe looks and tastes like "special occasion food" but without too much effort. I cut the wine and butter in half to suit my personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Way too much wine. I have always used sherry in place of white wine because white table wine doesn't offer much to the dish. With that change it is an ok recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I'd so love to give this dish five stars as it was a tremendous hit at a party this weekend, but the two cups of wine and the amount of butter is the only thing stopping me. I used half the butter suggested, melted it in a pan and then added in my fresh bread crumbs to saute a bit. Additional seasonings, including an Italian blend helped to jazz up the crumbs. Because I love cooking with sherry and others had recommended it, I used that in lieu of the white wine. I sprayed my casserole dish with PAM and only used a half cup, if that, of sherry. When the shrimp were just about done, I turned on the broiler to brown and crisp up the topping. As I said, everyone loved this dish and with these few changes it will certainly warrant a repeat performance. Thank you so much Jenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Delicious and bad for you. I love it...I did cut the amount of shrimp, butter, and used Italian seasoned bread crumbs it was delicious and easy. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very good recipe. Used only 1 cup of white wine and followed the rest as written. Good recipe to assemble early and then put in oven as guest arrive for a GREAT appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This dish was too rich for my liking, which isn't a huge criticism for the recipe in general, but it just didn't suit my taste. I cut the butter to 1/3 of a cup and cut down on the wine to 1 1/2 cup, but it was still too much. The flavors were good, so it you are looking for a decadent and sinful dish, I guess this will suit your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States