Shrimp and Sweet Corn Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe isn't a true roux, IMHO, because the half and half is added too late in the recipe for it to thicken, and next time I would leave it out. This tasted really fresh and delicious and would be great over rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was delicious. I did make a couple small changes. I mix my own Creole seasoning so I can adjust the heat to our taste and I didn't have zucchini on hand like I thought I did so I just chopped some fresh pea pods and added them for color. Loved the simplicity and it was bursting with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is so delicious and so easy. What a great summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
While my dad and Mr. LTH enjoyed this, I wasn't as a big of a fan. It was OK, just nothing I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was too spicy. I would cut back on the Cajun spice if I was to make again. It made for a nice light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I had high expectations for this dish, but it just didn't quite do it for me. It was too spicy for me- and I;m not sure what the purpose of the half-and-half was. It just made it watery. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFJULIE1
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I REALLY enjoyed this meal, as did my family. I used all red pepper as I am not a green pepper fan. It was still flavorful and had the green zucchini to make it a beautifully colorful dish. I thought it was especially well suited for Spring - fresh tasting and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Amazing dish. I left out the shallots, so increased the amount of green onion. I left this dish without rice, and it was amazing. Many reviews say this is too spicy, but that seems easily changed by the amount of creole seasoning put in. I also agree with another review, and put the half and half in earlier than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Soooo amazing! Have loved this since I first discovered it...this time I swapped the zucchini for tofu, and the shrimp for lobster. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States