Shrimp and Sweet Corn Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Amazing dish. I left out the shallots, so increased the amount of green onion. I left this dish without rice, and it was amazing. Many reviews say this is too spicy, but that seems easily changed by the amount of creole seasoning put in. I also agree with another review, and put the half and half in earlier than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Soooo amazing! Have loved this since I first discovered it...this time I swapped the zucchini for tofu, and the shrimp for lobster. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I had high expectations for this dish, but it just didn't quite do it for me. It was too spicy for me- and I;m not sure what the purpose of the half-and-half was. It just made it watery. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Fegler
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I REALLY enjoyed this meal, as did my family. I used all red pepper as I am not a green pepper fan. It was still flavorful and had the green zucchini to make it a beautifully colorful dish. I thought it was especially well suited for Spring - fresh tasting and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe isn't a true roux, IMHO, because the half and half is added too late in the recipe for it to thicken, and next time I would leave it out. This tasted really fresh and delicious and would be great over rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was delicious. I did make a couple small changes. I mix my own Creole seasoning so I can adjust the heat to our taste and I didn't have zucchini on hand like I thought I did so I just chopped some fresh pea pods and added them for color. Loved the simplicity and it was bursting with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is so delicious and so easy. What a great summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
While my dad and Mr. LTH enjoyed this, I wasn't as a big of a fan. It was OK, just nothing I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was too spicy. I would cut back on the Cajun spice if I was to make again. It made for a nice light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States