Shrimp and Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
After wasting some costly ingredients. Absolutely did not like this, the pasta was bland and the overwhelming flavor was shrimp and chili oil not enough seasoning to make it palatable as written. Who writes a recipe without salt. Yes there is salt in the water but to season the pasta and sauce with just the pasta water the amount of salt should be included it the recipe... I am not going to waste more ingredients to find out what the measurement should be, there are too many other recipes here that are much better. Lesson learned, 'Never pick a recipe based on a good picture'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised by this GREAT dish! I have a garden and had overload of snap peas and was tired of the same recipes. I saw this & thought I'd try it. It was SO good. I took the advice of others and added more garlic & salt. (I also added toasted sesame oil in place of hot oil and also added about 3T of nutritional yeast (a vegetarian substitute for a cheesy flavor). It was SO good. (I also cooked the liquid down with all the ingredients in it so that the flavor would caramelize.) This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I read that this was bland and I did not have any chili oil, so I added chili flakes to the olive oil and I added some fresh ginger. It was NOT bland, it was almost too hot to eat. I would have complained if my husband made it this hot. Next time I wll cut back on the amount of chil flakes I add. I also added carrots, onion and bell pepper. Also I would coat the noodles in oil and wine before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I tried it tonight...I made a few changes...I used whole wheat penne pasta, added some ground ginger and some dill...not bad but will have to experiment further...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe was good, but I added the following... I substituted edamame for sugar snap peas and used chicken broth instead of the white whine.. I used regular margarine also instead of unsalted butter I doubled them amount of butter as well as lemon juice and garlic. I had read a lot of people say it was bland but with my modifications it was simply delicious :) Thanks for the beginning recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe but made a couple of additions. I added a bit more garlic and red pepper flakes. My boyfriend loved it and I will be cooking this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
4 stars with a slight adjustment. Negate the pasta water, use more wine in its place. Also I would recommend adding the shrimp right after the wine as the shrimp is a delicate meat. Also added twice the garlic, twice the butter, very roughly chopped basil for a more distinct flavor and use thin noodles (thin spaghetti, vermicelli). Works with all types of seafood (langostino, scallops, clams) This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savage60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
A great base recipe. I assimilated some suggestions of other reviewers and made some changes of my own: 1. I used about 2/3 of the pasta, at most. 2. I used siracha (to my taste) rather than chili oil. 3. I used pre-cooked shrimp (mixed in during the last step) and gave the snap peas a good saute. 4. I doubled the garlic to four cloves. 5. I skipped the butter, but used olive oil as needed. 6. Instead of the basil, I tossed the pasta with about three spoonfuls of pesto sauce (and a bit of black pepper). 7. Rather than lemon, I squeezed in the juice of almost half a lime. The result was fantastic! No shortage of flavor, but still a simple, harmonious combination that really made each ingredient shine. My husband said it was among the best pasta dishes I've ever made, and it's definitely going on the permanent rotation :) Note: I also mixed a teaspoon of cornstarch into the sauce, which worked out great but might not be necessary. The wine I used was some slightly vinegary leftover Sauvignon blanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
So good. I added asparagus as well (cooked same as snap peas) and a little extra butter - the kids even loved it and my son actually ate the veggies too! Will def make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was great - a little bland. I added avocado the second time I made. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States