Shrimp and Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I didn't have chili oil, so I infused the olive oil with Red Pepper Flakes (just put maybe a half a teaspoon of the flakes in the oil while waiting for the oil/pan to heat up). Also, I had to use extra white wine (extra 1/2 cup), extra garlic (probably 2 MORE cloves!), little extra butter, and some generic spices (Wegmans Herbes De Provence) because there was too much pasta, shrimp and pods without enough flavor/spice. Also, I only used 2/3 pound of the pea pods, and next time I would still use less. Though, I am a healthy eater and love greens in my pasta dishes, next time I'm going to switch the sugar snap pea pods with spinach. The author was right with the chili oil (red pepper flakes for me!), it adds a nice heat to this dish that changes the entire flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I thought this was very nice indeed. Yes, its a light flavour but very good with pasta. I might try some of the suggestions next time, a little salt, black pepper, cayenne but I don't think it needs that much. Just a little tiny kick is all ;) Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We used dry basil and dried (3)chilli peppers in the oil before and during heating and cooking. We also liked about 1 head of garlic. The Sugar Snap Peas are a favorite but after following the recipe the first time we decided that they needed a bit more cooking and sautéed them in the oil and garlic first, adding the shrimp later. This has become a family favorite and our company loved it to the point of asking where to find this recipe as well. Bon appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe is quick and easy -- perfect for a weekday meal. I would definitely use only fresh ingredients since the sauce is so light. We tried using frozen snap peas and it didn't taste very pleasant. I liked the sauce but ended up adding more chili oil since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
It was okay, i was expecting a little more zing but it was pretty bland, i will add some things next time, but good base idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Quick and easy. I omitted the chili oil and my kids, husband, and MIL loved it. Used the leftovers in a frittata (with some extra garlic, herbs, and cheese and that went over very well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Bland. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This recipe is great with a few augmentations! I added red bell pepper, asparagus, onions, and crushed red pepper. I definitely added more garlic since my boyfriend and I are garlic lovers. I also added a little Classico sundried tomato alfredo sauce. We ate this with a garlic stuffed pork tenderloin and it was awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have tried this recipe on three different occasions trying different variations. The first time I made it I didn't have white wine and substituted it with white vinegar wine, not a good choice. The second time I used chicken broth and used basil pesto to give it more flavor. Also could not find chile oil. Just made again with all listed ingredients, still does not have enough flavor. Will use basil pesto and increase garlic in the future. Not ready to throw in the towel on this one. Jeannine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. The chili oil was a different twist that I will definitely be using in my shrimp and stir fry dishes from now on. I used more chili oil than olive oil to spice it up. I eyeballed the amounts of everything because I cut the amounts way down since I was only cooking for one with enough leftovers for lunch. I decided to add a few things to this recipe: sliced mushrooms, black pepper, extra garlic, and I topped the dish with shredded parmesan cheese before serving. I also omitted the butter- you don't need it! I thought it was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States