Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent quinoa recipe. I added sliced grape tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this last night and my husband and I loved it. I did want to make a healthier version so I used 1 teaspoon olive oil to saute the vegetables and shrimp in a non-stick skillet over medium heat and did not add the additional 2 tablespoons of oil at the end. This shaved off about 100 calories and 10 grams of fat per serving! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I have made this twice and will be keeping as a regular staple. The quinoa was good without the shrimp, although my son took care of this by eating all his shrimp and then having half of mine as well. Try this you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This dish was amazing! I've been looking for a good quinoa recipe and this one is it. I didn't have the raisins so left those out but it still tasted fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was delicious, even my hubby liked it, I used 2 limes instead of just the one and added a few jalepino pepper flakes. Cant wait to make again.Going to skip the shrimp next time and serve with fresh steamed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was really fantastic. Easy and delicious, and so healthy! I pack bento lunches for myself so I'm always looking for good recipes to make on the weekend for the upcoming lunches, and this was perfect. It actually makes 8 cups, so to me it's 8 1-cup servings, which makes the nutritional information very favorable! The only thing I'd change is that next time I'll put in even more asparagus, because I love asparagus. I wanted to note for future cooks that I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and it was fine. I also used powdered ginger as I didn't have any fresh, but I used more of it. I used lime juice out of a bottle, about 1/4 cup seemed the appropriate amount. This recipe will be a staple, I know! Thanks for a great way to eat quinoa, a real superfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
LOVE IT...first I browned and onion and green pepper, remove from the pot. Rinse quinoa well add to pot along with 1 1/4 cup water 6 oz can of pineapple juice along with 8 oz can of crushed pineapple, and the juice only from a can of mandarin oranges (use the oranges later as a garnish, throw in a handful of raisins and some celery. For a twist I also added 1/2 cup lentils. !/2 tsp. ginger. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a slow simmer for approx. one hour, watch so pot does not go dry you may need to add more water. I microwaved some shrimp to serve with this YUMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
We are just venturing into more healthful eating -- did not even know what quinoa was too long ago!! This was good! I sprinkled the lime juice on at the very end (and put more on the table). I would add more asparagus and ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used 4 tablespoons of lime juice, added 2 cloves of garlic in the saute, used red bell pepper instead of green, used 1 cup of chopped fresh green beans instead of asparagus, omitted the raisins and 2Tbsp oil for the quinoa, and doubled the mushrooms, red pepper, and parsley. It's quite a few variations, but the result was very flavorful and quite healthy! I will certainly make this again, perhaps even with a few more veggies included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! It was my first time trying Quinoa, and this recipe will be served in my house frequently. I made a few changes (since I don't like bell peppers and my husband doesn't like mushrooms): I used sundried tomatoes instead of bell peppers (and used the oil from the tomatoes instead of olive oil), no mushrooms, regular raisins (didn't have golden on hand), and threw in a diced avocado. It was scrumptious! I didn't have a fresh lime, so I guestimated 3 tbs of lime juice, which was a bit much, but it was still yummy. My picky (and self-proclaimed "meatatarian") husband ate 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States