Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent quinoa recipe. I added sliced grape tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I left out the quinoa & lime, used orzo and chicken stock instead. Very good; made twice in one week, once with shrimp, once with tilapia. Delicious both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was a hit! My husband loved the sweet and tart taste. We will be trying it with other meats as time goes along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this last night and my husband and I loved it. I did want to make a healthier version so I used 1 teaspoon olive oil to saute the vegetables and shrimp in a non-stick skillet over medium heat and did not add the additional 2 tablespoons of oil at the end. This shaved off about 100 calories and 10 grams of fat per serving! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I have made this twice and will be keeping as a regular staple. The quinoa was good without the shrimp, although my son took care of this by eating all his shrimp and then having half of mine as well. Try this you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This dish was amazing! I've been looking for a good quinoa recipe and this one is it. I didn't have the raisins so left those out but it still tasted fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe was delicious and exceptionally healthy. I didn't have asparagus so I substituted green beans. I also used fire roasted red peppers (in a jar) in place of the green peppers. Next time I would add saute some garlic with the olive oil when heating the pan. We found this to be a wonderful alternative way to prepare quinoa and a must-try for novice quinoa fans. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
The quinoa with all the veggies and sweet lime flavoring is excellent. I used red peppers instead of green for extra color, and regular raisins because I didn't have the golden. The only thing I didn't like was the shrimp had no flavor. I would grill it separately speared on rosemary kebobs and your favorite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was delicious, even my hubby liked it, I used 2 limes instead of just the one and added a few jalepino pepper flakes. Cant wait to make again.Going to skip the shrimp next time and serve with fresh steamed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was really fantastic. Easy and delicious, and so healthy! I pack bento lunches for myself so I'm always looking for good recipes to make on the weekend for the upcoming lunches, and this was perfect. It actually makes 8 cups, so to me it's 8 1-cup servings, which makes the nutritional information very favorable! The only thing I'd change is that next time I'll put in even more asparagus, because I love asparagus. I wanted to note for future cooks that I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and it was fine. I also used powdered ginger as I didn't have any fresh, but I used more of it. I used lime juice out of a bottle, about 1/4 cup seemed the appropriate amount. This recipe will be a staple, I know! Thanks for a great way to eat quinoa, a real superfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States