Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
First time trying quinoa & now no one in my house wants to eat it again. the quinoa with the raisins, salt and pepper were excellent, but the rest appeared to have too many conflicting flavors. Sent husband to work w/the cold leftovers, hoping they'd taste better (like the description advises "cold") and he called from work and said, "Please don't ever make this again." politely, but hungrilly! followed recipe to the "T" except we didn't have any fresh mushrooms, so we ommitted. Taste: bitter, sweet, salty, bland, fishy (from the shrimp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very, Very good. I did not have asparagus so I used the last of my harvest of green beans from the garden. I used regular raisins and rehydrated mushrooms since I did not have fresh. I did not have any parsley either. Bummer! Would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great Recipe for quinoa and asparagus as a side dish. I am mildly allergic to shrimp, so don't cook with it much, but we enjoy quinoa and asparagus and this is a good way to cook them together! I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and cilantro for the parsley (you gotta cook with what you have!) and it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. Great combination of flavours, quinoa was a great consistency. I might add a bit more seasoning next time, add a handful of fresh basil or more ginger. Leftovers worked well as a chilled salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a dish with excellent flavors! I cooked 1 cup quinoa with 2 cups water in my rice cooker. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic, and doubled the mushrooms and peppers, and added a package of halved grape tomatoes. I used about 1/4 cup of lime juice. I plan to make it again adding more chopped fresh vegetables such as zucchini and yellow summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is the perfect light and fresh summer meal. I am always looking for new quinoa recipes and this one is a keeper. Like other reviewers, I did not use the extra 2 tablespoons of olive oil, you don't need it and we didn't miss the extra fat. I also added a little cayenne pepper and used an extra lime. Next time I will use a little more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by todcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made the recipe for the first time and I followed the directions exactly. I had high hopes since the recipe contained many of my very favorite ingredients, but as a hot dish, found it very bland and unappealing. There were lots of leftovers and the second day we liked it a little better as a cold dish. Today I'll try stuffing pita bread with the cold salad to see if that is a little better. For the time it takes to make this, I'm not sure I'll make it again. I might add I'm not a big fan of quinoa or couscous...it's a texture thing, but I wanted to try. Maybe brown rice would be better, and adding garlic might help too. My personal opinion is that the recipe definitely needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent! Skipped the raisins--ew. Also used full red pepper and 1/2 a white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! Even my husband, who was very skeptical of eating Quinoa LOVED it!!! I sauted some garlic first then added the onions, etc... and I subbed the green pepper for a yellow pepper and craisins instead of raisins... DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent! I was short on quinoa so I combined half a cup of brown rice to the skillet. Skipped the raisins, used powdered ginger and omitted the additional oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States