Shrimp and Peanut Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent quick, relatively healthy meal. Takes me more than 15 minutes, but that's probably just me. I made it according to the recipe the first time (substituting cider vinegar for the black vinegar, which I can't find), and it was quite good. I have also used buckwheat soba noodles (more protein) and canned chicken (cheaper) with good results. If you're using canned chicken, be sure to add it after draining the noodles and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt T
Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I really wanted this to be good, and it was! My family loves broccoli, shrimp and noodles, plus it is a one pot meal. So, I had to give it a try. Everybody loved it! I did substitute whole wheat fettucini for the whole grain aspect. The sauce is very good. The only addition I made was one teaspoon of chile garlic sauce to add some spice. I have tried many peanut sauce recipes, because I love it. This was by far the easiest and quite good. This dish was fast, easy and healthy. Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was great! I added used brown sugar instead of regular sugar, and added about 1 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes and 2 cloves of garlic to the sauce, which I heated over low heat until the peanut butter melted. Instead of broccoli, I added shredded cabbage, shredded carrots and green onion. I also used extra chunky peanut butter, which added a nice crunch. I used pork instead of shrimp, as I already had some ready for use. Thanks so much for the post! I'll be making ths one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Really good recipe. I just made the peanut butter sauce and poured it over plain noodles (because I dislike shrimp and broccoli) and most everyone in my family seemed to enjoy it. One of my sisters even begged me to make her just the sauce so she could use it as a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ficklepip

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Tasty, simple, and fast! You can't ask for much more. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
EXCELLENT! we used asparagus in place of the broccoli. we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZZY-OOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The first time we had this dish it was really thick and kind of heavy. But the taste was really good. We thought the sauce was thick because when we cooked our noodles, we didn't use enough water and the noodles made our sauce thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a great dish. Made some changes just due to necessity - I couldn't fine udon noodles or black vinegar in my grocery store. I used angel hair pasta and red chinese vinegar, and it turned out just great. A big hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful! Definitely going to be a staple of my college days too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it very much, tasted exciting and exotic, but so easy to make right out of my kitchen w/o running to store. I would make more sauce next time and I omitted the shrimp for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States