Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Deicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I took the term "season to taste" pretty liberally, because as written, this would have been really bland. I added salt, pepper, cayenne, and a few fistfuls of creole seasoning just to give it some flavor. I wouldn't call it gumbo - it was more like a tasty vegetable soup with shrimp. We liked it, but it wasn't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great base recipe. Added more garlic, andouille sausage, and a good amount of Zaterains seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Ok...for those who want to know what I did different...which I mostly did do the whole thing different...here it goes. And it was delicious. Ingredients: 2 lb shrimp peeled and deveined (well mostly) 2 lb okra...or what looks like a "mess of okra" 2 cans chopped fire roasted tomatoes 1 big sweet yellow onion chopped 4-5 garlic cloves chopped 1 bell pepper chopped 6 stalks of celery chopped 1 lb bacon chopped shrimp stock chicken broth 1/2 c green onion...or thereabouts First do the shrimp. The recipe says prep time for the whole thing is about 15 minutes. They lie. After I peeled the shrimp I seasoned them with some Tony Chachere's and the juice of one lemon and set aside. I took the shimp shells and legs and whatever was left and put on with some water to boil. I cooked this while I chopped up everything else. It boiled over twice, so watch it. Boil the shells until the water smells shrimpy and is kinda murky and then let it sit. Meanwhile, you've been chopping and changing positions constantly because your back hurts. You have been thinking that maybe one of those ugly mats with the padding has some merit, after all. Once all the chopping is done, unless you are somebody who likes to drag that sort of thing out, cook your bacon. After all the bacon is done, save the grease in the bottom of the pan and add some olive oil...a good bit to make sure you have enough to saute the okra. Pour the okra in and stir it up good. Don't let the heat get too high,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Came home very tiring day looked in the kitchen and decided I had the ingredients to make my fiance this gumbo although not many shrimp were harmed in the making of this shrimp. Used a variety of spices including black pepper, white pepper, garlic powder, fresh garlic, cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, paprika and served with a side of cornbread and rice. A def. keeper and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I am from Louisiana and this very good. Read the improvements others added (less water, increased seasoning) and maybe consider shrimp stock made from the shrimp shells. Simple and straightforward, this one can be dressed up or down for a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
no flavor in this gumbo. Had to heavily season and only add half of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a great gumbo,but instead of serving over rice, I add one bottle of Heinz shrimp sause,3 extra cups water and one cup pearled barley. The barley thickens on it's own and gives good fiber I rate this a five star 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
5 Stars with alterations, I followed the suggestions of other reviews: reduced water by half but 3 cups water and 3 cups vegetable broth, seasoned shrimp with old bay, but used only 1 pound and 8 ounces of lump crab meat, used only 1 pound okra, and seasoned stew with Zatarin's creole seasoning and old bay, also a bay leaf. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a bad recipe. I followed this recipe and spent over 2 hours to make a watered down, bland dish that barely even looks like gumbo. I even added smoked sausage to the recipe and it was still bland. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States