Shrimp and Octopus Soup (Caldo de Camaron y Pulpo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I really liked it but the kids were all meh. I prefer my soups a little thicker so if I make it again I'll reduce the water to 6 cups. Like a lot of others I used calamari rings because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I had a bag of the mixed seafood to use up that my husband did not really want to eat and this really turned out awesome. So in place of all seafood I used 1 bag mixed seafood + 1 bag frozen shrimp. I didn't have any kind of peppers so I threw in a can of green chiles. I also threw in some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong, I followed the instructions though.It,s like fishy water and the octopus is like trying to chew a pencil eraser. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
If you don't like chewy octopus like me it is a lot better to boil the octopus on its own for at least an hour. You can taste it after an hour and if it is still chewy keep boiling it till it is tender. I scaled this recipe up to 12 servings and For the salt I used 1 1/4 knorr shrimp bullion cubes. This added the taste it was missing. I left out the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I have made this recipe five times and it still is good. I added muscles, squid, and cutter fish. No matter how you make it this is a very good recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I had to make a few substitutions to use what I had on hand. I subbed clams for the octopus, hot salsa for the pasilla chiles, and chicken broth for the water. Also included the corn which was delicious. Added garlic, thyme, bay leaf, black pepper, and mustard. Will make again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I had a pack of surimi, baby shrimp, squid, and octopus that I pulled out of the freezer to make this. This made a good base. I made a couple substitutions: 2 quarts low sodium chicken broth for the water, 1/4 cup green chiles for the pasilla chile peppers, For seasoning, I used flax oil, minced garlic, chipotle red pepper, parsley, and salt.I left out the potatoes... Awesome good. This was a great find for a seafood lover. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was easy to make and it was really good! I added cilantro to the chopped veggies. I didn't have any pasilla peppers, so I added a 8 oz can of tomatoe sauce EL Pato, this has mexican seasonings with a kick. I like the soup to have a little color. I put the sauce in with the shrimp along with some dried orgeno. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I had a bag of mixed seafood and a bag of imitation crabmeat that I got on clearance at Target. I was looking for a recipe to use it and came across this one. Turned out wonderfully! I didn't have any celery so I used celery salt, and used both fresh and stewed tomatoes. I also added a little comino powder to give it a little smokiness. I will definitely be making this again! It was so easy, so fast, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great taste and very flexible. I had a bag of frozen mixed seafood (shrimp, octopus, squid, muscles, etc.), and I wanted to do a nice soup with it. I used this recipe, and it turned out very good. I would love to try it with fresh octopus. I have a large pot that is also good for frying, so I poured the liquid and seafood into the fried vegetables. I think it really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States