Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I modified this a lot based on what I had and the reviews, but I think it would turn out great as written, too. I sauteed a pack of mushrooms in an EVOO/butter combo with a big scoop of minced garlic, then removed them from the pan. Added 1/3 c. butter + a big tablespoon of healthy butter substitute to the hot pan, stirred in about 7 oz. cream cheese and more garlic and whisked til it became a smooth paste. Added 1/2 can evap milk, several sprigs worth of fresh thyme and a big sprinkle of dried basil and simmered for a few mins. Added a big splash of pasta water to thin it out a bit, then threw the mushrooms back in along with sliced chicken andouie sausage and simmered it all til the sausage was fullly heated. Served it over gnocci with fresh parmesan, salt & pepper. Sauce was fantastic and could've been done very quickly. A definite keeper to try on different pastas (linguini next!) and with the shrimp or chicken. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is awesome. AWESOME! I used 1 pound of 51-60 count shrimp, so they were small and it looked like there was a TON of shrimp. Also I halved the butter in this recipe. I didn't think that much was necessary. Otherwise, I did everything EXACTLY the same. For the boiling water, I used pasta water. I also only had farafelle (bowties) and this turned out ADORABLE! Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn Bellingham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was more simple than I thought it would be to cook, and tasted great. I did make two changes: I purchased raw shrimp and pan fried them in 2 tablespoons of butter before sauteeing the mushrooms, and I added about two tablespoons of pesto to the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notajenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe was great! Will definitely make is again. I did add more cream cheese and used angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
So scrumptious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is fantastic! I've made this recipe 4 times since I found it. Love it fresh and love the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. I used less fat vegetable cream cheese. Next time I might cut back on the water as the sauce was alittle runny, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Amazing dish-especially if you love mushrooms as much as I do! Worthy of any high-end restaurant! The sauce was excellent! Fairly simple to make! Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was really good. Not bland at all like some of the other reviews. I used 4 oz of reduced fat cream cheese and 1 lb of shrimp and mushrooms. I will definitely try and reduce the butter next time around as it does add a lot of calories. I also used Dreamfields pasta to reduce the carb load. This will absolutely be made in my house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was DELICIOUS!! I used 8oz fat free cream cheese and added about 1c water to thin out the sauce. Doubled the garlic (we love garlic!), and used 1lb shrimp and 1lb fresh mushrooms. It was very good - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jubilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States