Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Ok, so I realized as I started this review, that I pretty much changed a large portion of the recipe, so let's just say I am recording and reviewing my version, so I can make it the same next time:) I used rotini pasta, no mushrooms. I used a full package of cream cheese, and I doubled the garlic and spices, and added ground pepper. I thinned out with white wine and skim milk, but don't pour the milk into the wine and then microwave it, because it will curdle, and then you will need to use more wine for the recipe, and drink more wine due to your own personal embarassment!:) I added the cold white wine to the cheese, and once it was mixed in well I added milk a little at a time until i got the desired texture. Also, as I taste tested, I found the sauce needed something else, so I added maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of grated parmesan and it was very good. due to no shrimp, I used canned crab meat, and it was delicious. I added frozen peas at the last minute, and chopped bacon for dh and he liked his a lot. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This really is good, My husband said it tasted restaurant quality! It will make it into the rotation but I need to figure out a way to lighten it up even more. I only used 2 tbls butter total, and 2 tbls of olive oil (next time just spray?). I used 6 oz of cream cheese (next time try light) fresh basil (use more next time) fresh parsley, a dash of marsala wine, dash of white wine. 1% Milk instead of water. Added asparagus & diced onion, and bella mush, with 1lb of shrimp. Smart choice pasta. I need to add salt and pepper since I cut butter. Served with Parm. cheese. I could see baby spinach in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Extemely rich, tasteful and easy to make! If you're coming off a diet or feel like cheating (like me) you will love this. Sauteed the mushrooms with some shallots and used both fresh garlic and garlic butter throughout came out amazing! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. It was so easy and my husband loved it! I added some red pepper flakes (if hubby isn't sweating profusely, it's not spicy enough) and it worked. With or without the heat, this dish is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved this dish. I was able to cut back on the fat by using considerably less butter (used 2-3 T. total instead of 10 T.) and reduced fat cream cheese, and it was still rich and flavorful. I used cold skim milk in place of the boiling water. I also added a splash of white wine and some ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe was great with the following modifications: double the shrimp, cook the mushrooms and shrimp with garlic and white wine and replace the water by 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup white wine and leftover liquid from mushrooms and shrimp like another reviewer mentioned. I would also add: serve with fresh ground pepper and parmesan cheese. Great side dish to go with this is the Lettuce, Avocado and Sunflower seed Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Just DELICIOUS!! I'm going to add scallops next time - any suggestions out there as to whether to precook the scallops and how long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Saw this as a recommendation to a request and had to try it - has everything the husband likes! Had to use fresh basil (only kind I had), added 1 bunch of green onions and ended up using a whole block of cream cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
AMAZING! I ADDED PARMESSAN AND MILK TO THE SAUCE. I ALSO USED OLIVE OIL TO SAUTE THE MUSHROOMS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Simply DELICIOUS !!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States