Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of cream cheese and since I wanted less fat and calories, I substituted plain greek yogurt for the cream cheese, warmed up with the butter on very low heat so it doesn't curdle. I also used half the amount of butter and water to make the sauce creamier. I was really good served with stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
In between mouthfuls, DH told me not to lose this recipe. To be fair, I gave this 5 stars, even though I changed it up a bit. I doubled the recipe, but I used two 8 oz. bricks of cream cheese; about 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp; an Italian blend of spices instead of basil because of personal tastes; thinned with milk (just eyeballed); and finally, some bell peppers were added. As I was heating the sauce after adding the shrimp, mushrooms and peppers, I found that it became a little thinner, so if you're eyeballing it like I did, be careful. This was incredibly easy and very quick to prepare. The taste was wonderful and the presentation was impressive. We eat a lot of seafood, so I will be making this often. Thank you, Karyn, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
super yummy! its resturant style good. best served with a thick slice of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is excellently good!! My family loved it.. The only changes I made were, I doubled the shrimp in the recipe because it didn't sound enough to me & I added 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the pasta water in the recipe because I had a can that needed to be used up. IMO, even after adding the evaporated milk, I could have added a bit of the pasta water to thin the sauce out a bit more.. It thickens on standing. I also added some cilantro in place of parsley and basil.. Will make this recipe many more times for sure.. We all loved it on the day of making but I loved it even more cold from the fridge for lunch the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A real hit with my husband. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yum! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
was excellent!!! only used 1/4 cup butter and was PLENTY!! I also added a can of clams, as I happened to have them on hand. used dried herbs, and was excellent! will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and thoroughly enjoyed it with a nice salad and crusty buns (to mop up the sauce!) The second time I doubled the ingredients for the sauce, used fresh basil along with the fresh parsley and as I had about 1 1/2 cups of spinach I needed to use up, I shredded the spinach and stir it just before I added the shrimp. My son was over for dinner the last time I made this recipe and he's saying he wants to be invited for supper when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Ok, so I realized as I started this review, that I pretty much changed a large portion of the recipe, so let's just say I am recording and reviewing my version, so I can make it the same next time:) I used rotini pasta, no mushrooms. I used a full package of cream cheese, and I doubled the garlic and spices, and added ground pepper. I thinned out with white wine and skim milk, but don't pour the milk into the wine and then microwave it, because it will curdle, and then you will need to use more wine for the recipe, and drink more wine due to your own personal embarassment!:) I added the cold white wine to the cheese, and once it was mixed in well I added milk a little at a time until i got the desired texture. Also, as I taste tested, I found the sauce needed something else, so I added maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of grated parmesan and it was very good. due to no shrimp, I used canned crab meat, and it was delicious. I added frozen peas at the last minute, and chopped bacon for dh and he liked his a lot. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States