Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
far too much butter in the sauce- I used just a tablespoon and some milk along with the cream cheese. Lacked vibrant flavor so I added some lemon zest and fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious and the most inexpensive thing I have prepared in a while (less than $20). It made 4 large servings. The sauce is not heavy but full of flavor. Have I mentioned the main ingredients are butter and cream cheese? I was tempted to double the amount of seafood it called for but I didn't and was thankful. Don't over do this recipe, the portions are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
OK dish, on the plain side. Not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the sauce came out watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Followed the recipe to a 't' and it came out delicious. Some observations that others have probably already mentioned: I did all the cooking in one pan (shrimp, then shrooms, then sauce). Love it! The butter/cream cheese mixture curdled a touch while simmering, so I'll follow others' advice & warm those on low heat. Once I added the boiling water, it mostly smoothed out. Threw it all together, and voila! A very yummy dish you can alter to your own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of cream cheese and since I wanted less fat and calories, I substituted plain greek yogurt for the cream cheese, warmed up with the butter on very low heat so it doesn't curdle. I also used half the amount of butter and water to make the sauce creamier. I was really good served with stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
In between mouthfuls, DH told me not to lose this recipe. To be fair, I gave this 5 stars, even though I changed it up a bit. I doubled the recipe, but I used two 8 oz. bricks of cream cheese; about 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp; an Italian blend of spices instead of basil because of personal tastes; thinned with milk (just eyeballed); and finally, some bell peppers were added. As I was heating the sauce after adding the shrimp, mushrooms and peppers, I found that it became a little thinner, so if you're eyeballing it like I did, be careful. This was incredibly easy and very quick to prepare. The taste was wonderful and the presentation was impressive. We eat a lot of seafood, so I will be making this often. Thank you, Karyn, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
super yummy! its resturant style good. best served with a thick slice of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is excellently good!! My family loved it.. The only changes I made were, I doubled the shrimp in the recipe because it didn't sound enough to me & I added 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the pasta water in the recipe because I had a can that needed to be used up. IMO, even after adding the evaporated milk, I could have added a bit of the pasta water to thin the sauce out a bit more.. It thickens on standing. I also added some cilantro in place of parsley and basil.. Will make this recipe many more times for sure.. We all loved it on the day of making but I loved it even more cold from the fridge for lunch the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A real hit with my husband. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.

Displaying results 101-110 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States