Shrimp and Mushroom Angel Hair Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this recipe after asking you all what I could make with 2 lbs of frozen cooked shrimp and this was one of the many great suggestions you came up with. Please do note that this recipe calls for uncooked shrimp so I improvised when it came time to use the shrimp and just wound up heating up my shrimp in some melted butter for flavor in the fry pan, after I defrosted and butterflied as the recipe calls for. Came out fabulous! I also doubled as I had 2 lbs of shrimp to use. Now for the wine...I used the white but used marsala instead of port wine, very tasty! I did use the sugar when I made this but cut it down. Next time I won't use the sugar as this recipe has great flavor and the sugar is not needed to enhance. The sauce never got thick for me but once you add it to the pasta it gets absorbed and gets creamier. The sauce flavor is wonderful...very rich and flavorful from the shallots and garlic. I used 3 shallots and minced garlic instead of the fresh cloves. Came out great and we ate it for leftovers as well! I heated it up in the fry pan with a little milk to cream it back up. AWESOME!!! Even gave some to my neighbors and they loved it too! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Made this recipe last weekend and folks LOVED it, just a couple of mods though...penne rather than angel hair, full stick of unsalted butter, 5 cloves of garlic (ain't no vampires anywhere near this dish!), opted out on the sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and traditional cracked black pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wreck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The only modification I made was to saute the garlic w/the shrimp rather than add it at the end. We also served it w/parmesan cheese on top. It was very good. I followed the recipe just as it says & did not find the wine to be too strong at all. If anything this pasta is a touch on the bland side. Don't be afraid to use all the garlic it calls for and maybe increase the white pepper just a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This recipe is very good. I made a low fat version--used low fat marg. and evap. milk. Skipped the mushroom and shallots and sugar. My sauce was pretty thin though because of the evap. milk. I used pre-cooked shrimp. Do not let shrimp heat too long or else they REALLY shrivel up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I liked the order that ingredients were used in this recipe.It brought out the flavors well.I used more veggie,less fat,and no cream.I mixed 1lb. of spinach with mushrooms.I added zucchini&roasted red peppers to shallots.I used marsala wine instead of port.I then added pasta to sauce before adding other ingredients. I served it with fresh grated asiago cheese over top.Thanks for all the suggestions they helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I gave it three stars for potential. ALthough the combination of ingredients have potential, the directions are not very well worded. Don't cook the pasta first because the sauce takes about 30 minutes. Also, REDUCE THE ALCOHOL before adding the heavy cream. Otherwise, you might need to serve this dish in a martini glass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special. It was bland, and there was too much pasta for that much sauce. The port made it look purpleish-grey and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This turned out quite well but there were a ton of changes I made so I can't give it the 4 stars that it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easy to make, however a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
There are many better shrimp and mushroom pasta dishes. I tried this, but found the combination of port wine, white wine and cream was strange and not particularly appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States