Shrimp and Grits for the Displaced Southerner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Spicey! Just the way we like it. We use the method cooking grits for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good. I cut the Worcestershire sauce in half, sautéed my green onion, mushrooms and shrimp in it, hot sauce and olive oil, and added hot sauce directly to the grits. I also put cheese directly in the grits while cooking for cheesy grits. As a southerner, I think this recipe is pretty close to perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe for the shrimp exactly but I forgot the cheese but I don’t think it really needed it anyway. It had the perfect level of spiciness and was just darn good. I went to three markets and could not find the stone corn ground grits so I used hominy grits and prepared according to the package. It was delicious with the hominy grits so I can just imagine how good it would have been prepared as directed. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This Recipe was O’mazing!! Another hit at my dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
my husband loved this recipe definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyZ71
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Great Recipe! Used smoked turkey sausage but forgot to add parsley. Family loved it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I am new to the South, but my fiance got me liking shrimp and grits since he asked me to try it at a restaurant. I followed this recipe exactly (except I used more liquid to cook the grits), and it was perfect! I made this last night and my fiance has requested that I make it again tonight! I love the mushrooms, the creamy texture and flavor the grits has, and the spicy flavor of the sauce. I used hot smoked Italian sausage and Texas Pete for the hot sauce and unlike the previous user, the Worcestshire was perfect for me. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cheng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I do not like rating recipes as written unless I follow them to a "T". I bought mushrooms and just forgot to put them in. So without them a 5 - with them? Probably a 6! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, but I don't think Worcestershire sauce was right for it. Didn't taste very Southern to this displaced Southerner's tastebuds. I'll probably replace it with something else if I can figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States