Shrimp and Grits for the Displaced Southerner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I am new to the South, but my fiance got me liking shrimp and grits since he asked me to try it at a restaurant. I followed this recipe exactly (except I used more liquid to cook the grits), and it was perfect! I made this last night and my fiance has requested that I make it again tonight! I love the mushrooms, the creamy texture and flavor the grits has, and the spicy flavor of the sauce. I used hot smoked Italian sausage and Texas Pete for the hot sauce and unlike the previous user, the Worcestshire was perfect for me. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cheng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband thought this was delicious. I thought it was just okay. I’ve only made grits a few times so I was a bit surprised that the recipe called for 48oz of broth so I compared that to the directions on the package of grits and decided to go with the package. I used 40 ounces and cooked the grits covered for 30 minutes. The grits were still pretty runny so I cooked them for about 10 more minutes uncovered knowing that I was going to be adding another 1 ¼ cup of liquid. Once I added the other liquid, I had to cook for another 50 minutes to get the grits to a good consistency. Even with the additional cooking time, I found them still pretty runny so I added about a cup of the cheese to the grits to thicken them up. I made the shrimp as directed (except with bacon drippings instead of Canola) and I found the Worcestershire Sauce to be too overpowering. I didn’t feel the taste was worth the effort but my husband wasn’t around while I was cooking so just based on taste, he rated this a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, but I don't think Worcestershire sauce was right for it. Didn't taste very Southern to this displaced Southerner's tastebuds. I'll probably replace it with something else if I can figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This Recipe was O’mazing!! Another hit at my dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Spicey! Just the way we like it. We use the method cooking grits for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I do not like rating recipes as written unless I follow them to a "T". I bought mushrooms and just forgot to put them in. So without them a 5 - with them? Probably a 6! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
my husband loved this recipe definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good. I cut the Worcestershire sauce in half, sautéed my green onion, mushrooms and shrimp in it, hot sauce and olive oil, and added hot sauce directly to the grits. I also put cheese directly in the grits while cooking for cheesy grits. As a southerner, I think this recipe is pretty close to perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Giving this only 4 stars because we had a difficult time with the grits. They eventually turned out really well but my brother who is from the south had a totally different method that is much faster and would have gotten the same results as we got spending over an hour at the stove. We also had to add way more cheese to get them thick enough to stand up like they should. For the sauce part I added red and green peppers, cooked some finely diced bacon instead of using the canola oil and used Andouille sausage to give it more of a southern kick. I think the original recipe would have been good but not nearly as southern, at least for the part of the south my brother is from. My kids wouldn't even try it but that's okay, more leftovers for us, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe for the shrimp exactly but I forgot the cheese but I don’t think it really needed it anyway. It had the perfect level of spiciness and was just darn good. I went to three markets and could not find the stone corn ground grits so I used hominy grits and prepared according to the package. It was delicious with the hominy grits so I can just imagine how good it would have been prepared as directed. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States