Shrimp and Grits Louisiana Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is amazing shrimp and grits. It really hits the spot when craving some low country food. I made a few changes...I used Canadian bacon instead of the ham, Green onion and no green pepper. I added smoked gouda cheese (maybe 1/2 a cup) to the grits and a little chicken stock. I also added a sprinkle or two of white pepper. I took it to work for a coworker to try and her eyes rolled back in pleasure, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I just used bacon, could not find the Tasso ham. The h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is the second time making this recipie. My family loves it. I had to thicken the milk with some clerk starch though. It came out way to soupy. Also added son Tony Chacheres Creole seasoning. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe it was my first time making it. I added my own flare instead of Tasso, I used bacon which goes with everything so well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I liked that it was not a long ingredient list and I had most of the items already. The taste was good as well. My kids even enjoyed it. However, my sauce did not thicken so I didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It was okay the shrimp was delicous hut the sauce was to milky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I added garlic, and red instead of green peppers. I had no ham, so I used bacon instead. Wonderful. Oh, and I cooked the grits in my rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My husband LOVED this, but he loves shrimp and grits. I would probably make it again just because my husband devoured it and I appreciate the low ingredient count, but it comes in second to my all-time favorite shrimp & grits recipe. Tasso is hard to find so I substituted pancetta. Overall, a good one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States