Shrimp and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was a very easy recipe with nice flavor. Living in Savannah, shrimp and grits is a staple, but even though my husband is a native and I've been here 5 years I had yet to find a recipe I wanted to try. This was it! My husband loved it and I would not hesitate serving to guests. Definitely better served over grits than rice. I used fresh garlic and half and half as that was what was on hand. Turned out great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
this was an easy recipe to make. for those who want a short-cut, replace the 'flour+water+milk' and beef bouillon cube with 1 can of cream of chicken/mushroom soup + 1 can water. works out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My Husband flipped over this recipe. I did use the entire can of evaporated milk, subbed granulated garlic for the garlic salt, used Better than Boullion instead of the cube, added cayenne pepper, left out the extra salt and served over rice. He ate it all... I had ice cream for dinner. Thanks, HardCore-Mama... hubby was in hog heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I was really happy to find this recipe, but I had a few other things on hand I thought I'd throw into it: - equal parts fresh garlic and ginger (one clove)tossed in along with the onion. - quarter cup of white wine - added paprika for some colour - chopped half a tomato and added it in (i did this after tasting and found it lacking in a bit of sweetness, it turned out to be a great touch as it really complimented the sauce) -stirred in freshly chopped parsley at the end. Overall tasted great, I think next time I'll try giving it some heat with a chopped hot pepper and another dimension by adding fresh cilantro. My philosophy is always go with the fresh natural ingredients so I'd always go for a clove or two of garlic rather than the garlic salt or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
All I can say is OH MY GOSH!! This dish was amazing. Even my boy child (7) loved it. I served it over grits and that is the only right thing to serve it over. It is very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
The only reason it has a 4 star rating is because the fat content!!!! Otherwise.. it is soooo good. My husband likes it with grits instead of rice. Don't change a thing. You don't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I followed the peer reviews and left out the salt altogether and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Great dish however rather than using garlic salt, I used garlic powder and salted to taste. Alot less salty. I also prefer the shrimp gravy mixture tossed with cooked pasta. Much more tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I did however make some changes due to not having ingredients recipe called for. I used 3/4 C beef broth, 3/4 C 2% milk inplace of the evaporated milk and the water and beef bouilon cube. I also used 1 T garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I served this over polenta and had spinich. I also had rice for the not so brave ;) Mt entire family enjoyed this recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was fabulous! I used 2 cloves of garlic in place of part of the garlic salt, just because I grow garlic, and have lots of it! Also added some scallops. My husband loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDCHIC7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States