Shrimp and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Way to salty! If I were to make this again I would use only 1 tsp. of Garlic salt not a tablespoon. Or salt to taste. Otherwise it would have been a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
One teaspoon of salt (not one tablespoon!) was more than sufficient - I would perhaps use between 1/2 teaspoon and 1 teaspoon of salt in the future. I made with chicken soup base instead of beef and added chopped garlic. Good served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Great dish however rather than using garlic salt, I used garlic powder and salted to taste. Alot less salty. I also prefer the shrimp gravy mixture tossed with cooked pasta. Much more tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Incredible recipe, but like everyone else said, it's a little salty. Four stars, but next time I'm positive it will be a five star dish if I cut out the salt where possible. If country ham is used, you'll need some bacon grease or maybe shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
All I can say is OH MY GOSH!! This dish was amazing. Even my boy child (7) loved it. I served it over grits and that is the only right thing to serve it over. It is very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
My husband and I thought this was good. I used about 1 tsp of garlic powder instead of garlic salt, based on other reviewers saying it's too salty. My husband actually thought it wasn't salty enough, but I think that's because I didn't salt the rice enough. He also said it needed spice, so maybe next time I'll add a little cayenne. I used a baked ham steak that I cubed and cooked. It didn't leave any fat in the pan, so I added about 1 TB each of butter and olive oil after I removed the ham. That sort of 'deglazed' the pan and got the ham flavor in the mix. I would have liked more gravy - maybe next time I'll increase the gravy ingredients. With the modifications I mentioned for next time, hopefully this will turn into a 5 star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe!! I have used this recipe many times and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! It was delicious. I served one serving over 1/2 cup of rice, and it was the perfect portion. We've tried many shrimp recipes, mostly shrimp and grits, and all are too rich and filling. This one was perfect and my husband said it was his favorite of them all. Definitely a keeper. I think I'll try it with baby shrimp next time. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I used a tsp. of garlic powder and about a tsp. of salt per other reviews about this being too salty, and that seemed to work fine. This has good flavor and is relatively easy to make. I thinned the sauce just a little after I saw how thick it was. We served it over penne and enjoyed it. I would like to try it over grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I followed the peer reviews and left out the salt altogether and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States