Shrimp and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Delicious, versatile recips. I doubled the sauce and followed other suggestions by adding peas, shredded carrots, and crushed red pepper flakes. We have lots of fresh basil growing, so I chopped in 3 tablespoons' worth. Used a soy mixture (with ginger, lemon, and honey) in place of the salt (unfortunately making it a little grey-ish), turning this into something like an asian-influenced etoufee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
We served this over egg noodles. Nice and easy meal. Next time I might throw in some shredded carrots and peas to add some veggies to this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
A very simple recipe with lots of flavor. I too added garlic and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt that made the taste more intense. I will do this recipe again. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW! Loved it. The family calls it Heart Attack shrimp because of cooking the onions/garlic in bacon grease but there were no left overs (lol)! I did add a lot of extra liquid, almost the whole can of milk plus some water. I wanted more of a gravy and thought it was to thick. I just kept adding as I cooked until it was the consistence I thought it should be. I also used fresh garlic, as others suggested, and added salt to taste. We had over rice and it was a big hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I gave this recipe a spice up by adding a dash of cajun spice and a splash of tabasco sauce. My husband went nuts over it!! next time i will use fresh garlic instead of garlic salt as it was a little bit too salty for me. all in all a great yummy dinner! thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOWNSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bromley, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was a very easy recipe with nice flavor. Living in Savannah, shrimp and grits is a staple, but even though my husband is a native and I've been here 5 years I had yet to find a recipe I wanted to try. This was it! My husband loved it and I would not hesitate serving to guests. Definitely better served over grits than rice. I used fresh garlic and half and half as that was what was on hand. Turned out great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I followed the peer reviews and left out the salt altogether and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I used a tsp. of garlic powder and about a tsp. of salt per other reviews about this being too salty, and that seemed to work fine. This has good flavor and is relatively easy to make. I thinned the sauce just a little after I saw how thick it was. We served it over penne and enjoyed it. I would like to try it over grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! It was delicious. I served one serving over 1/2 cup of rice, and it was the perfect portion. We've tried many shrimp recipes, mostly shrimp and grits, and all are too rich and filling. This one was perfect and my husband said it was his favorite of them all. Definitely a keeper. I think I'll try it with baby shrimp next time. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe!! I have used this recipe many times and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States