Shrimp and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
AMAZING! Better than I could have even hoped for. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber619

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
The only reason it has a 4 star rating is because the fat content!!!! Otherwise.. it is soooo good. My husband likes it with grits instead of rice. Don't change a thing. You don't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I didn't change a thing in this recipe and it was very good.We had it with white rice and green garden salad, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofCandL

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe is AMAZING!!! My husband gets so excited when I make it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was awesome! I didn't have any evap. milk so I dissolved the beef bullion in 1 cup of regular milk. Used fresh garlic as the other's suggested and it was salty enough with the bacon. We had over rice but want to try over grits, a southern favorite. I also added cajun seasoning to add a kick to the gravy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was a good recipe, probably not a family staple, but something new and interesting to eat. I didn't have beef bouillon, so I added a little chicken bouillon instead. I also doubled the amount of flour, water and evaporated milk. It was just right, any less would have been skimpy. We had rice and biscuits with it, as I didn't know which would be better. I think the biscuits were my favorite. My son loved it and wants it for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Fantastic Recipe!!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I really like the flavor of this gravy...I think next time I may use pork chops instead of shrimp, and have it over some biscuits. The gravy tastes geared more towards pork or chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishelle Maul
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was really, really good, especially on a cold day! I added the whole can of milk and some extra water to stretch the gravy a bit, and since I didn't have chives, I added a couple of shakes of Parisien Bonnes Herbes from Penzeys and a couple of shakes of Old Bay Seasoning, like I saw in a similar recipe. I didn't use garlic salt after reading some reviews, and used the powder instead with just a couple of pinches of Kosher salt. I served mine over Jasmine rice cooked in chicken broth in my rice cooker. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mishelle Maul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This recipe was great. My daughter is Lactose intolerant so I couldn't use the evaporated milk, so we used Lactaid instead. All we had to do was omit the water and double the measurement for the evaporated milk. It worked great. Thanks for the wonderful dinner ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States