Shrimp and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Omg! Perfect comfort food! I added the shrimp and gravy on top of mashed potatoes topped with a little bit of mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
For those worried about fat or calories this recipe is super easy to lighten up...I substituted 4 TBSP(1/4 c) Kirkland real bacon bits for the bacon and used a whole can of evaporated skim milk...otherwise made the the recipe as written (oops, also added a can of mushrooms)and it was delish! Even my picky, shrimp leary children loved it! Wrote it in my recipe calculator and it was really low in fat, cals and high in protein...win-win. Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I love this dish!!! I tried it out tonight, and my daughter wanted seconds; and she's only 2yrs old. I followed all instructions except for using a whole bouillon. I used a half a cube because I seasoned the season prior to adding it to the gravy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
For some reason when I follow the recipe it comes out kinda salty, but I just water down a bit and serve over rice with peas and it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I did however make some changes due to not having ingredients recipe called for. I used 3/4 C beef broth, 3/4 C 2% milk inplace of the evaporated milk and the water and beef bouilon cube. I also used 1 T garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I served this over polenta and had spinich. I also had rice for the not so brave ;) Mt entire family enjoyed this recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was fabulous! I used 2 cloves of garlic in place of part of the garlic salt, just because I grow garlic, and have lots of it! Also added some scallops. My husband loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDCHIC7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I was really happy to find this recipe, but I had a few other things on hand I thought I'd throw into it: - equal parts fresh garlic and ginger (one clove)tossed in along with the onion. - quarter cup of white wine - added paprika for some colour - chopped half a tomato and added it in (i did this after tasting and found it lacking in a bit of sweetness, it turned out to be a great touch as it really complimented the sauce) -stirred in freshly chopped parsley at the end. Overall tasted great, I think next time I'll try giving it some heat with a chopped hot pepper and another dimension by adding fresh cilantro. My philosophy is always go with the fresh natural ingredients so I'd always go for a clove or two of garlic rather than the garlic salt or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
this was an easy recipe to make. for those who want a short-cut, replace the 'flour+water+milk' and beef bouillon cube with 1 can of cream of chicken/mushroom soup + 1 can water. works out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Can't say we cared for this dish very much. We found it bland and greasy. Pretty much a waste of good shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
this dish was great!! i grated 2 cloves of garlic in with the onions added a dash or 2 of tabasco for kick and served the whole thing over a pile of rice with a salad on the side. no leftovers at my house this night. also didn't add ANY extra salt with the bacon and boullion it was fine. just to be sure, taste as you go. will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States