Shrimp and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This recipe turned out delicious! Although my husband didn't like it as well, said the peppers were overpowering. I loved it, and liked it even better the next day in a pita. Will definately make again, and again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I loved this! My husband really enjoyed it too (for dinner and lunch the next day). I added lots of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Really delicious and even better the next day. This one is a keeper that I will keep on making. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
What a delicious dish...we loved it. I let it sit for about 4 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This recipe was delicious! You have to let it sit for several hours before serving so the flavors can blend together. I skipped the green pepper, but added corn and carrots and served it on a bed of mixed greens. I gave it 5 stars because my Army hubby loved it and he's not a big fan of salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Fantastic! Light, fresh, and full of flavor. I used less olive oil (not sure how much, but probably closer to 3 Tbs), let everything except the avocado marinate all day, then added the avocado and some lemon juice right before serving. Got rave reviews from my family. Also wonderful as leftovers piled on warmed pita bread. The avocado actually didn't turn brown overnight because I had added lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This has become one of our favorite recipes, with a few modifications. I dislike bell pepper of any kind so I substituted sun dried tomatoes. Not as much flavor but nice color. I don't use nearly as much olive oil, 2 T is sufficient. I serve it on a bed of lettuce drizzled with a little Olive Garden dressing. We have this every couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caeli
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Loved it! My only comment was that the olive oil was rather unnecessary and added a whole lot of calories. I only used a tablespoon or so and it was still the right texture and tasted excellent. The avocado was hard to notice, if you like avocado I would add a little more. Otherwise I'd substitute the avocado for another vegetable and a little more oil. I added chili pepper flakes but added more than I thought! Just be careful if/when you add chili pepper, it definitely makes it but its easy to go overboard. I also forgot the cilantro and I didn't notice it. As a side note, if you've got the time and patience, I'd cut the shrimp into smaller pieces. It makes it easier to eat and allows the aromatics to blend into the meat more quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was a really good easy recipe except I tried the fresh Cilantro for the first time ever and it left a really bad taste in my mouth so bad I had to throw it all away. I did some google'ing and found out that indeed some people have a bad "reaction" to cilantro like it tastes like soap. Next time no Cilantro for me and it should be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Setzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States