Shrimp and Feta Cheese Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wonderful mix of flavors! I did make a few changes, though. I used fresh oregano and basil, doubled the amount of tomato, and added MUCH more white wine than the original recipe called for (I used at least 1/2 cup of the wine as the base for the sauce, as others said it was dry). I also added a little bit of salt to the sauce. Instead of just shrimp, I used a seafood mix of shrimp, scallops, and squid and tossed it all with spinach linguini. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
The best meal I've ever cooked, and one of the best I've ever tasted. I cooked for a friend who loved it and in a week I had to cook it three times for all the friends that she told about it! One little glitch is that it seems a bit dry with the ingredients posted here, I increased the portions of everything but the pasta by a half and it was perfect. Also, try adding some pitted black olives, it gives it a better look and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Outstanding!!! I thought the idea of feta cheese with shrimp sounded odd, but I was SO wrong! It was very tasty! (I do agree with some of the other reviewers that the pasta to sauce ratio is a bit off; you don't need to use 16 oz. of pasta; just use about 2/3 of that.) I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes rather than fresh, added a few pinches of crushed red pepper and a splash or two of half & half at the end. Oh my goodness! What an awesome recipe! My husband and I both had seconds and there's still some left for my lunch tomorrow. I'd been looking for something new to do with shrimp and now I will look no further! Thanks so much for a terrific recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I used Farfalle (bowtie) pasta, added extra garlic, then added fresh spinach to the tomatoes and topped off everything with a sprinkle of crushed red pepper. The feta I had on hand was "Crumbled with Garlic and Herbs" and I would deliberately buy it again for this recipe. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using frozen shrimp. This made it faster and equally as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent! It was quick to make and everyone loved it. I used canned Delmonte chopped tomatoes (14 oz)Italian Flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was a definite winner. I made this for a family of friends, and everyone loved it. I took the advice of another review and used a half a cup of white wine. Instead of cooking the tomatoes in the oil, I used the wine sauce that was left over from cooking the shrimp. If you are using Roma tomatoes, which you should, use a few more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
We didn't have any tomatoes so we used a can of diced tomatoes, which worked out quite well. Next time we'll use two cans. The feta was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
So simple, yet delicious! We loved this dish and my husband requested it again just three nights later! I took the advice of another reviewer and used the frozen shrimp (be sure they're fully thawed or they'll add more liquid from the melted ice!) and that saved me a ton of time. This recipe is a keeper - next time I'm making more, as it made for a great lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Its quick, its easy, and even the kids ate it! I used penne noodles instead for the kids, and I also used frozen shrimp it was super quick and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States