Shrimp and Feta Cheese Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I agree with other viewers, to me it was bland as written, for one thing it needs salt (just under 1 teaspoon). I didn't have wine, just used water. It also needed at least double on the basil and a good bit more garlic. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a 16 oz. jar of tomatoes that I canned from our garden this year, and 8 oz. dry angel hair pasta in place of 1 lb. of linguine. The dish was not dry at all and the tomato sauce and cheese blended well. I didn't have feta, I did have crumbled goat cheese with basil (on top of the doubled basil)......YUMMY......The trick is to taste the sauce making sure it is highly seasoned before adding in the pasta, shrimp, and cheese. The seasoning will tone down once the other ingredients are added. Even though I had to tweak this recipe to suit our taste, I still give it 5 stars because everyone has different taste buds and this is a really good recipe. My husband and mother-in-law loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe was delicious! Super easy and quick. I used ditalini pasta instead of linguine because that's what I had on hand. I also made it with frozen shrimp and canned diced tomatoes. Whether it changed the taste from the original, I'm not sure. Either way, it was very good. I will definitely make this again and share it with others. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-k-k-katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner. This was really, really good for a pasta dish without sauce, which is what my family is used to eating. I did take the advice of another viewer; I added an extra tablespoon of white wine, extra garlic (just because my family loves garlic) and I used a chicken bouillon cube to add a little more favor, because viewers stated the dish was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I have made this twice now and plan to make it many more times. The first time I made this a couple weeks ago, my children, who say they don't like shrimp, even cleaned their plates. I used a can of diced tomatoes since I was out of fresh tomatoes and substituted a Knorr concentrated chicken broth tub and a little water for the white wine (I don't like wine). I made this again last night using fresh tomatoes and still using the chicken broth tub but also adding spinach, as some of others suggested. My husband said it was the best shrimp dish he has ever had. The fresh tomatoes made all the difference and the spinach was just an added bonus. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Even when I increased the ingredients by a half for everything except the pasta, I still found this pretty bland! I used fresh garlic, fresh tomatoes, and then dried herbs. If I did it over, I would use fresh herbs and Italian seasoned canned tomatoes, I think...the feta cheese was a good addition. When I asked my husband what he thought, he said, "bland shrimp and noodles." I also bought fresh shrimp and had to peel and devein them all so by the time this dinner was done I was beat! I am shocked that I couldn't taste the garlic, I used nearly a whole bulb! Very disappointing... I'll buy the frozen already shelled and deveined shrimp from now on. It'll be a while before I try this one again. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Awesome.....easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband loved this one. I had to make a few changes, but overall it was very good. I don't like dry pasta so I added about 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1/3 cup of wine. Unfortunately I could not use fresh tomatoes so I used canned, with fresh basil. 2 TB of olive oil to cut calories and fat and 5 oz of feta (1 cup) and about 2/3 package of pasta. I needed some pepper and a bit of salt, but this reduced calories to about 420 per serving instead of the 600+ listed below. Oh, and I added some brocolli and asparagus. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was so quick, easy to make! So delicious I could hardly believe that I made it at home! Will be a definite addition to our menu rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is a really good recipe. Definitely need to increase the wine. Also add some fresh spinach to the tomatoes, yummy and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made this for my husband, and it was a HIT! This one is already printed out and goes into my recipe binder. This is FANTASTIC! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States