Shrimp and Dill Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These are so terrific. Try using fresh or frozen shrimp steamed correctly instead of canned shrimp. Then chop up the shrimp into smaller pieces. The texture comes out so much better. Don't over cook the shrimp or they will come out chewy. This recipe can also stand on its own without the shrimp. The taste is still fabulous. I think chopped celery is also a great addition. Especially if you decide to delete the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
LOVE them!!! I'm always on the lookout for something different, and these are wonderful. I just about have to hide them, because if my husband finds them, they won't make it to the table. Cut back on the number of eggs, chop the whole egg up, and it makes great egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made four kinds of deviled eggs and the shrimp eggs were gone 5 minutes after I set them down on the table. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
There's alot of flavor going on in this recipe. Perhaps too much. Don't use the canned shrimp. It doesn't taste nearly as good as freshly cooked shrimp. Not really the same animal at all. Fresh shrimp are larger, so you do need to dice them a bit in order to incorporate them into the egg mixture. Don't be afraid to use other types of mustard in this if you don't care for dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were good, but the filling was a little too soft. I would cut back the mayo a bit and add more as needed. The combination of lime juice and dill was a tiny bit overpowering after being refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Okay. I also made these with minced crab and it was was better as the taste was a bit sweeter. I think I still prefer plain 'ole deviled eggs though:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Excellant. Much more bite than regular deviled eggs. Very tasty. I did omit the shrimp but these were a hit. Addictive once you get past the fact they are not like regular deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My husband would have rated this 4 stars. I lowered the rating as I left out a major ingredient that would have changed the taste quite a bit. I used 1/2 tsp. dried dill instead of the fresh (I guess you could experiment with the amount)and Grey Poupon deli mustard. The recipe doesn't say what size canned shrimp to buy. I used tiny shrimp & they got a bit mashed up when I mixed everything together. Maybe it would be better if the shrimp just topped the eggs, like a garnish. Anyway most importantly, I left out the hot pepper sauce. I had leftover filling after I heaped the eggs with the mixture. I did a taste test by mixing a little hot pepper sauce with the leftover mixture in one bowl and a little white horseradish with the mixture in another bowl. I liked the horseradish much better. If you leave out the hot pepper sauce, you just need to decide if you'd like the dish more deviled &, if so, what to add (more mustard or horseradish, or maybe vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for a party and they were gone within minutes. Next time I'll make a double batch and add more hot sauce. I used the can shrimp versus the fresh and it was good! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Gosh, I hate to do this but if I could I'd give this 0 stars. I made two plates of deviled eggs for Easter, one dozen of these and a dozen of my old recipe. Mine were gone. I had to force people to try the others. Now, I followed this recipe EXACTLY. We did not care for it - no flavor at all and had a really weird texture. Won't be making again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States