Shrimp and Crab Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
yes I tried it this weekend and it was a hit. I didnt used the eggs because I was serving deviled eggs. i substituted the milk for heavy cream and I added olives. I believe the teaspoon of salt was too much so reduce it to 1/2 teaspoon. The trick is to make the dressing the night before (the mayo, heavy cream and seasonings) allow those to marinate. With the shrimp and crab, I even added lobster meat - marinate that with Old Bay Seasoning, Black Pepper, Dash of Red Crush Pepper, garlic and Cayenne - and let that overnight. The next day do you your Marconi, veggies - celery, onion, olives, green pepper and mix all together and allow it to sit for at least four to five hrs - turns out to be superb!!! I didnt mix all and sit overnight because I didnt want the macaroni to become mushy like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
with the mayo I used half hellmans & half miracle whip & added essense it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was good but I think next time I'll make sure that I drain the crab and shrimp on paper towels. I followed the advice from others to use sour cream and no milk. I used fresh dill along with the fresh mint. Also I used about a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. Oh and I also chopped up some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! My family loved it! Have lots of mint in my yard and was glad to have a recipe to use it in. I did not add the milk (substituted with sour cream), like others suggested. Didn't add the eggs, but put them on top, in case someone didn't want them. I will definitely make this again; would be great for a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julietaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIDGE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wow, this not only looked pretty but tasted wonderful! I did change it just slightly. I changed the serving size to 4 rather than 6...there's just two of us. I omitted the eggs and used a red onion. I always buy celery with bright green tops as I use the celery leafs along with the diced celery. I put in a small jar of pimentos (for color) and used fresh lump crab meat along with the shrimp. For the dressing I omitted the milk and used sour cream instead. I doubled the dill weed and used Sriracha hot chili sauce rather than hot pepper sauce. The fresh mint from our garden was a nice touch also. I let it blend in flavor for 5 hours and then plated it on a bed of fresh butter lettuce. Not only did it look great, it tasted like a top quality crab and shrimp salad. Thanks Fred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T but none of us enjoy the dish. I should have done as another reviewer did, and used way less macaroni, and a much smaller pasta as another did. However, I am reviewing the recipe as it is. I won't be making this again. The taste and texture of the seafood is swallowed up by the pasta and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Really good! Reminds me of how my mother used to make her shrimp salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this the other day. Good thing I only cooked 2 cups of macaroni. Also instead of fresh & shrimp I used canned. This was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe. I took a suggestion from another review and used sour cream in place of the milk. I used the sour cream and chives. I also used extra cocktail sauce and Tabasco. I used red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
At first when I tryed this recipe it was bland but of course I didn't let it marinate...so once it marinates its better but I swear the shrimp and crab meat needs to marinate alone with the seasonings then mix, before I try any recipe I read the reviews and I am only assuming the person with the lowest ratings should have let the seasoning all marinate together over night if the time allows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States