Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was good and easy. I sauteed the shrimp with a leek in olive oil. I only had room and filling for 8 nice size enchiladas and I made 1/2 with corn tortillas and the other 1/2 with flour tortillas. I preferred the flavor of the corn. I also used salsa verde from Trader Joe's and it gave the dish a nice flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Medina
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These are so deliciously easy! We had a Mexican feast for our Thanksgiving Dinner, and so far 4 different people have asked me for the recipe! I never follow a recipe exactly, so I used cooked chicken instead of crab, and more cheese than the recipe called for. I also pre-mixed the stuffing for the tortillas, because it seemed more efficient. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone for any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. Johnson
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was quite good. I incorporated suggestions from many of the other reviewers. I sauted uncooked shrimp with a generous amount of garlic and a couple of leeks. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream cheese and some pepper to the mixture. I put a bit of the sauce in the pan first to prevent sticking (although it did still stick somewhat). For the last 15 minutes of baking I also threw some shredded cheddar on top and then broiled for a minute or so at the end. The biggest change was that I could only find red enchilada sauce and it was still good but I can see that the green sauce may be the key. I also generously filled 6 large flour tortillas and it filled my 9X13 ceramic dish nicely. I found that with the amount of crab in this recipe I got a nice crab flavour and didn't need more. I also used the amount of sauce listed and it was fine...not too soggy. Found I didn't need near the amounts of sour cream or green onions listed. Thanks for the recipe and all the other suggestions too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Awesome Recipe. I sauteed the shrimp with Garlic Olive Oil and onions. Since I have a dislike of canned crab meat (a little too fishy sometimes) I used fresh dungenous crab. Also to add a little extra flavor I added diced green chilies. Spectacular!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
i forgot to put spray the baking dish and they stuck and burnt. UGHH i'm sure they would have been wonderful had i followed the directions, as they were pretty good even though we had to pick out the burnt pieces. i'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieg77

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
another way to make a similar dish: mix a ratio of cooked, large-chopped shrimp and crab (real or fake, i used a pack of the surimi stuff) that you like. add a dollop of low-fat sour cream and a touch of half-n-half (again whatever fat level you like, it will work.) now saute onions, garlic, dash of cayenne powder, and FIRE-ROASTED TOMATILLOS (i used fresh, canned will work. these add a wonderful citrusy acidity that is PERFECT with the sweet and rich seafood. THE secret ingredient here) till soft, add this to the seafood. stir in some grated monterey jack or your favorite mexican melting cheese. have chopped fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice (cut a lime in half and twist a spoon in there like citrus juicer, or just squeeze with your hand.) add these to both the filling and sauce to taste. okay, the filling is done. now take some corn tortillas and toast them in a hot dry pan, one by one, till fragrant and a little colored (you could skip the toasting, but it's worth it!) mix a canned verde (green, it must be green! the flavor is different than red, and goes with the seafood and tomatillos) enchilada sauce with some sour cream and hot sauce to taste with a whisk. pour some sauce in your baking dish. add layers of sauce/stuffed tortillas till you run out, ending with sauce and a sprinkle of cheese. bake 40+ minutes till you see bubbles and melted cheese throughout. yum. (yeah, i'd post my own "creamy verde seafood enchilada" but i don't measure things, so it's a pain to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My guest enjoyed this meal. I love Allrecipes because of the tips from other reviewers. I took their advice & added a can of green chilis, as well as black olives. I also added extra cheese and the chopped green onions to the mixture. Thanks for all the recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Made these with corn tortillas as a casserole (did not roll) and they were WONDERFUL! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was just okay for us. I followed others recommendations based on what our family likes and used imitation crab. Sauted onions, garlic clove, and dash of cumin then added to the shrimp and crab before stuffing the tortillas. Don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States