Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Ok, I did change this up just a little to fit what I had on hand and to better fit our budget.... I used imitation crab meat because at $4.29 lb compared to $17.99 lb way better fit my budget. I also, used precooked mini shrimp meat but I also got about 5 large scallops and chopped them up because they were on sale at my husbands work. I took other users advice and added a box of low-fat cream cheese to bind the seafood together. Also added, because I am always trying to sneak some veggies in, some diced red pepper, green onion and a 4 oz. can of green chiles, along with some of the grated cheese and a few spices (cumin, chile powder and cayenne, if I remember correctly). I used corn tortillas because enchiladas just aren't enchiladas to me without them. Toasted those, then dipped them in the green enchilada sauce to bring out their flavor and make them easier to roll. Added filling and put them all in the dish. Before adding the sauce, I decided to spread about a cup or so of sour cream over the enchiladas, then added the sauce, then the cheese. These were scrumptious, I wish I had the foresight to make a second dish! Will make these again VERY soon! Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These were very good. My husband suggested next time trying them with chicken instead of shrimp and crab. I made a couple small changes. I added about 3 tablespoons of sour cream and a small can of diced green chilies and mixed them together with the cheese, shrimp, and crab prior to putting it into the tortilla. Otherwise everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Had crab and shrimp and looking for ideas..found this recipe. Unfortunately i didn't have any of the enchilada sauce, so i made some of my own with ingredients i had available. I used 2 cans cream of celery soup, 1 tbl garlic powder, 1/2 cup sour cream, cayenne pepper, 1 can diced green chiles and 1 can diced jalapenos warmed in a pan. I pured the mixture to remove any chunks of celery or peppers. Mixed 1/3 of the mixture with crab (used imitation) and shrimp, along with cheese. Placed this mixture into tortillas, placed in a pan and topped with remaining mixture mixed with a cup of half and half and cheese. It was awesome. My husband said it was one of his favorites! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was good and easy. I sauteed the shrimp with a leek in olive oil. I only had room and filling for 8 nice size enchiladas and I made 1/2 with corn tortillas and the other 1/2 with flour tortillas. I preferred the flavor of the corn. I also used salsa verde from Trader Joe's and it gave the dish a nice flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Medina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These are so deliciously easy! We had a Mexican feast for our Thanksgiving Dinner, and so far 4 different people have asked me for the recipe! I never follow a recipe exactly, so I used cooked chicken instead of crab, and more cheese than the recipe called for. I also pre-mixed the stuffing for the tortillas, because it seemed more efficient. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone for any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. Johnson
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was quite good. I incorporated suggestions from many of the other reviewers. I sauted uncooked shrimp with a generous amount of garlic and a couple of leeks. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream cheese and some pepper to the mixture. I put a bit of the sauce in the pan first to prevent sticking (although it did still stick somewhat). For the last 15 minutes of baking I also threw some shredded cheddar on top and then broiled for a minute or so at the end. The biggest change was that I could only find red enchilada sauce and it was still good but I can see that the green sauce may be the key. I also generously filled 6 large flour tortillas and it filled my 9X13 ceramic dish nicely. I found that with the amount of crab in this recipe I got a nice crab flavour and didn't need more. I also used the amount of sauce listed and it was fine...not too soggy. Found I didn't need near the amounts of sour cream or green onions listed. Thanks for the recipe and all the other suggestions too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Awesome Recipe. I sauteed the shrimp with Garlic Olive Oil and onions. Since I have a dislike of canned crab meat (a little too fishy sometimes) I used fresh dungenous crab. Also to add a little extra flavor I added diced green chilies. Spectacular!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
i forgot to put spray the baking dish and they stuck and burnt. UGHH i'm sure they would have been wonderful had i followed the directions, as they were pretty good even though we had to pick out the burnt pieces. i'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieg77

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
another way to make a similar dish: mix a ratio of cooked, large-chopped shrimp and crab (real or fake, i used a pack of the surimi stuff) that you like. add a dollop of low-fat sour cream and a touch of half-n-half (again whatever fat level you like, it will work.) now saute onions, garlic, dash of cayenne powder, and FIRE-ROASTED TOMATILLOS (i used fresh, canned will work. these add a wonderful citrusy acidity that is PERFECT with the sweet and rich seafood. THE secret ingredient here) till soft, add this to the seafood. stir in some grated monterey jack or your favorite mexican melting cheese. have chopped fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice (cut a lime in half and twist a spoon in there like citrus juicer, or just squeeze with your hand.) add these to both the filling and sauce to taste. okay, the filling is done. now take some corn tortillas and toast them in a hot dry pan, one by one, till fragrant and a little colored (you could skip the toasting, but it's worth it!) mix a canned verde (green, it must be green! the flavor is different than red, and goes with the seafood and tomatillos) enchilada sauce with some sour cream and hot sauce to taste with a whisk. pour some sauce in your baking dish. add layers of sauce/stuffed tortillas till you run out, ending with sauce and a sprinkle of cheese. bake 40+ minutes till you see bubbles and melted cheese throughout. yum. (yeah, i'd post my own "creamy verde seafood enchilada" but i don't measure things, so it's a pain to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States