Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I added the following items to the original recipe: 1 can of crab meat, 2.25 oz of black olives, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 jalapenos, 1 more 8 oz bag of cheese, sour cream, cilantro and 1 avocado. I also used white corn tortillas and briefly sautéed each of them in a pat of butter so they don’t tear when you roll them. I mixed all of the following in a large mixing bowl: - 2 (6 ounce) can crab meat, drained very well - 1lb shrimp, shelled deveined and cut into thirds - 2.25 oz can of black olives - 3.5 oz can of green chilies - 1 bunch of green onions, chopped - 5 oz of the green enchilada sauce - 2 full tbsp of sour cream - Dash of salt - 2 garlic cloves, minced - 2 jalapenos, seeded and minced I put 2 teaspoons of the above mixture and a handful of cheese in each tortilla. (I ended up using 1 of the bags of cheese during this step) I fit all this into a 14.75 x 10.5 pan (bigger than recommended) and was able to fit 10 enchiladas total. I then spread the remaining 15 oz of enchilada sauce and 2nd bag of cheese on top. After cooking, I topped the cooked enchiladas off with finely chopped fresh cilantro and cold, diced avocado. I served with Mexican rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDIADOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I didnt like it at all. Followed the recipe exactly and it had no flavor and was super mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
WOW! these were sooo good! We loved this recipe and I'm actually making it again tonite! ;) I added some chopped jalepenos for some kick and I read some of the reviews and added some Alfredo sauce. It really made it more creamier! Also this time around I'm adding an extra can of crab and diced green chilis. YUMO! can't wait to eat it again tonite! ********** Also - i used an extra can of green enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan so it wouldn't stick******** It's a great recipe to add whatever your pallate craves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lens, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Delicious, and even better in leftovers! I used two cans of sauce--one under the tortillas and one over--and mixed the scallions with the shrimp. I also mixed in a (drained) can of RoTel, and sprinkled cheese lightly over the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
These were excellent! I used whole wheat tortillas and added some spinach with the shrimp and crab. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
My family loved this recipe. I'll definately be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
MORE CHEESE, PLEASE!!!! Other then that great yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
These were so delicious. My husband loved them too. I would, however, recommend covering for fist half of baking to avoid tortillas & cheese from getting too hard on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Yum! My husband and I both loved these. The green enchilada sauce is really good with the seafood. I had leftover meat because it did not all fit into the tortillas. I was only able to fit 7-8 in the pan. Very good, thanks for sharing! I used two cans of crab so the seafood mixture was more even. I liked that better. This time all the meat got used in eight full enchiladas, soft taco size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this recipe and was disappointed. the recommended baking dish was to small for all the Enchiladas, there wasn't enough crab, and it could have been baked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States