Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These were excellent but the enchilada sauce I bought was way too hot for me to eat. Hubby managed but I just couldn't so I had to brush it off. But the enchilada itself filled with seafood was delicious and I will be repeating these often regardless of the too-hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Holy wowza!!! This was sooooo delsih! As long as you can get past the appearance (my enchiladas were no where NEAR as photogenic as Traci's Kitchen's photo...), you'll be in for a REAL treat. :) My hubs was on the fence, but he's not much of an enchilada fan anyways. I really think the quality of green sauce you use makes a HUGE difference here. I used slightly less than what was needed for halving this recipe - an 8 oz. pouch of Rick Bayless's green enchilada sauce (it's a little pricy but so worth it!). I used an entire can of lump crabmeat and am glad I did. I strongly suggest doubling the amount of crab if you make all twelve enchiladas. One final change I made was to smear a scant amount of sauce on the bottom of my baking dish and on each tortilla before rolling up. With the suggested garnishes (a must, IMHO), these were perfecto! Mexican rice and margaritas rounded out this insanely easy meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your fantastic recipe, ChristyJ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Husband called them better than restaurant. I followed the receipe, however, I added chopped spinach. I did saute onion, garlic, and the shrimp used cumin and chili powder then added hot mixture to the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent, but definitely add more crab meat. I added twice the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Will not be making this again. I have had way better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe 5 or 6 times now and I think I've perfected it. I put tomato paste in the bottom of the dish. I use 1 lb of shrimp (raw, chopped if large), 1 can of crab, 1 can of green chiles, about 4oz of sour cream, 2 cloves garlic and some shakes of fajita seasoning for the filling. I use pepper jack in the tortilla and on top for a little additional kick. I typically make these and beef ones at the same time so people have options. They are great and love how they can be made in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I used corn tortillas that after I did this I found it should have been fried for a few secs before I rolled them up. To that end They fell completely apart & turned into more of a casserole. . However, they were still awesome! I wasn't expecting much flavor with so few ingredients but they worked. I did mix all the inside ingredients together first and then put them in the tortillas but I don't think it would matter either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chammack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was fantastic! I added black olives and green chilis like others have suggested. This is a new household favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
A little too heavy, but good taste, appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was very easy to make. I used imitation crab meat instead of the canned...I think it might be better with the canned. The kids seemed to like it, they didn't complain which is a good sign from mine. Could use some spices on the seafood, but other than that, it was a pretty good dish. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacshembree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States