Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Muy delicioso! Whenever we serve this, our friends ask for the recipe. We modified it a bit by increasing the following; 16 ounces of cheese, 3 cans of crab meat, 1 1/2 lbs. of shrimp, and adding: 1/2 can green chiles, 1 small can chopped black olives. We mix the 1/2 of the cheese along with the crab, shrimp, chiles and olives for the filling. Wonderful tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I added bay scallops to the seafood & I did saute them all in olive oil w/ garlic & onions as suggested by many reviewers. I also added a tsp. of cumin to the seafood mix & loved the flavor it added...I think next time I might add another teaspoon. The green enchilada sauce MADE this recipe...I can't imagine it w/ red. After baking the second time, I topped the enchiladas off w/ a bit of mexican blend cheeses & stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes to add visual appeal. Then I topped each enchilada w/ a tbp sized dollop of sour cream (they really don't need any more than that) & sprinkled them w/ fresh, chopped cilantro. These were really, really good but I think white corn tortillas would make a better wrap for them. They'd hold up better to cooking under the sauce. Served them w/ watermelon margaritas, a southwestern blend of mixed veggies (corn, black beans, onions, poblanos etc), chips & hot sauce & sopapillas for dessert. Fantastic dinner...thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This was an excellent dish. I used 8 oz. imitation crabmeat and 4 oz. baby shrimp. I mixed in a little fat free sour cream, a diced tomato and some of the green onions as well as a jack/cheddar mexican cheese mix and it tasted wonderful. One of the easiest dishes and it got rave reviews!!! I will make it again and again. Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This was delicious. Followed previous advice and chopped the shrimp and added cream cheese. I also used two cans of enchilada sauce. I put a small amount on the bottom of the pan which helped keep the enchiladas from sticking and I poured a spoonful over the crab/shrimp mixture before rolling. The results were wonderful. FYI: The mixture nicely filled ten flour tortillas, had I used all twelve they would not have fit in the suggested pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This was pretty good but not great. I can of crabmeat is definitely not enough. I hate to say it but I think using the fake crabmeat would work better because it is in large pieces. I couldn't find green enchilada sauce and used red. I also mixed in the green onions w/the shrimp, crab and cheese. My fiance is not a seafood fan but I am. He said this was a little below average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
these were so awesome!! I can't believe how good these tasted with such a simple recipe. The end result was a little mushy though, I think next time I'll add the enchilada sauce a little later, probably after baking the enchiladas for ten or fifteen minutes first and making the outsides a little crispy so that they wont soak in as much of the sauce. Other than that, these were great and I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Very big hit! Saute the shrimp with olive oil, garlic and onions first to give them more flavor, medium green enchilada sauce was a little mild, might use hot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was fantastic, and so easy to make. The hardest part was finding the green chili sauce. But it was well worth the hunt! I added sauteed onion, garlic, chopped green and red peppers to the shrimp and crab mix. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe. I could not find the green enchilada sauce so had to use red but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
As recommended, I doubled the crab. Definitely a good move.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States