Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a good recipe. I chopped the shrimp into small pieces (i didn't use as much as was called for), and I used extra crab. I sauteed them in olive oil with a little seasoning, then mixed the crab and shrimp with a little cream cheese. I also used white corn tortillas to eliminate the soggy issue others had by using the flour ones. I layered the mixture on top of each tortilla and added the cheese, and rolled as per the directions. I also poured a little sauce on the bottom of the dish, so they wouldn't stick. I didn't want my enchiladas to be 'swimming' in the sauce, so I poured just enough to cover them. Covered and baked them as per instructed. With these changes, they came out superb!! I will definetly make these again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yummy!... I sauted half an onion with some pablano chili and added it to the seafood cheese mix. I didn't use the whole can of enchilada sauce, I put a little on the bottom of the baking dish, then sparingly covered each enchilada so they wouldn't get soggy! Served with Spanish rice and veggies. We skipped the sour cream and green onions! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These were just okay for me. I did add a can of diced green chilis and I'm so glad I did as I felt this dish totally lacked in flavor. All who ate these in my house added lots of hot sauce. Don't think I will make these again. Being from the beautiful Pacific NW I would never use any seafood out of a can, except for tuna for a tuna sandwich. Use fresh crab if you can and you will not have the "fishy" problem. If you are going to that expense tho I just think there are many better dishes to highlight the wonderful flavor of crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is simple and delicious to make. The only change I made is to use imitation crab instead of canned crab. I use the recipe for Tomatillo Salsa Verde on this site instead of green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Made lots of changes to what would have been a very bland recipe. Sauteed 1 chopped onion, 4 minced garlic cloves, & several minced hot peppers; added 1/2 can Rotel. To shrimp/crab, added 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream, cayenne, S&P, ground cumin, chili powder, Worcestershire sauce, 2 cups shredded cheese, dried parsley, 1/2 bunch chopped green onion, & onion mixture. Combined 1 small can green & 1 small can red enchilada sauce, plus hot sauce to taste. Spread enough sauce on bottom of pan to cover, pour remainder on top of rolled enchiladas, top with 1 cup shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My family loved it!! the only thing I will do differently the next time I make it is I will use less tortillas.I never roll the enchiladas separately but rather just lay it all out in one big casserole dish like a lasagna, it saves time and is less of a mess. Thanks for the awesomely easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Pretty good! I couldn't really taste the crabmeat - next time I will either add more or use imitation crabmeat instead. But I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were very good, but for some reason I didn't care for the crab. Maybe it was because I used imitation?! I think you need the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
i made this with "Best Spanish Rice" on this site. It I did saute this garlic, onion, and vegetable oil. I added Ground Red Pepper, Paprika, and Chili Powder to the mixture, about a teaspoon of each. I made 6 Big enciliadas, but man were they soupy... the flavor was good but next time i will cut the sauce at least in half, maybe more. And ill use more cheese, 8oz wasnt enough for me. But its a good recipe and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was wonderful! I did add 4 oz cream cheese to the crab and mixed it well, then added the shrimp. (I also used 2 cans of crab.) Other than that, I followed the recipe. Very filling and a little rich, but excellent! I would serve theses to company. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States