Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Success!!! Change ups, replaced canned crab with "sea legs", chopped the shrimp and added a can of diced green chilis. Here we go... Mixed chopped sealegs, chopped shrimp, a few green onions(chopped), some of the cheese and 1/2 can of the chilis. Divide onto tortilas. Put into greased pan. Mix enchilada sauce, 1 C sour cream and remaining chilis and pour over. Bake covered 30 -40min. Remove foil, sprinkle remaining cheese on and bake another 15-25 min until cheese is nicely browned. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Um, YUMMY! Living in Alaska we were so excited to use our crab meat. My boyfriend is fond of Tex-Mex and well, it was a hit! We made it just as listed and it was good! Would make again -- but leaving out the green enchilada sauce -- just wasn't our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Used a combo of fresh and canned crab; mixed up with 4 oz. of cream cheese (softened), sour cream and the onions. Used pepper jack cheese, and served with additional sour cream. My brother and brother-in-law were euphoric! Lots of praise! My husband said they were kind of fishy, hence the 4 stars only. Will try using all fresh crab next time. Doubled the sauce and the cheese on top of the enchiladas as others suggested. Thanks for sharing the recipe; will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anichka5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I used imitation crab and small bay shrimp to keep costs down, and it was okay, but I'm sure real crab would have been better. The one thing I really didn't care for was that the flour tortillas got a bit soggy the first night, and much too soggy the second night. If I make again I'll keep the filling for the second night separate and just assemble and bake when we're ready to eat. Probably, though, I'll just try it again with large corn tortillas. I took some reviewers' advice and added cumin and cilantro, which I thought was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I started with 2 tbs. butter and sauteed the shrimp and claw meat, then removed from heat and added the cheese. I used pepper jack cheese...definitely needed the kick. For the sauce, I used a can of green ench. sauce, 1 c. fat free 1/2 & 1/2, 1/4c. fat free sour cream, and 2 tbs. butter.....this is AWSOME. Next time I am going to add chopped lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have made this recipe many times and love it because it doesn't have a million ingredients and it does not dirty up a ton of dishes. That being said, it is also really really good. i have made it using spinach and mushroom instead of seafood. Also, buy a quality canned green sauce. I have had luck with La Victoria. Some brands a too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizcarney
Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent! I asdded green chilies to each tortilla and used green (medium) taco sauce instead of enchilada sauce on top. Black beans on the side and fresh crab helps too! This is a fine resteraunt quality meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
If you like suggestions, I made mine generously stuffed with 2-6oz cans crab, 1.5 lbs shrimp, 8 oz monterey jack, 4 oz jalepeno jack and 4 oz cream cheeses (mmmmm, cheese). It made 7-12inch enchilladas. They were....awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Made it exactly as the recipes says the first time- not alot of taste. Second time, I increased crab meat to 12 oz., added a small can of green chilies, and 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. Also used pepper jack cheese for more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was very good! My kids even loved it! I am not sure about the crab meat I chose...next time I will spend more on the crab I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRJOES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States