Shrimp and Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
not the best recipe but will try again with subsitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made this yesterday and we all enjoyed it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it could have used a little salt. I'll make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was pretty good. I did change the recipe, I used 4-5 cups cooked rice, 2 cups shredded cheese, only 1 1/2 cups mayo, 1 Tbsp of hot pepper sauce, and 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made a few modifications on this recipe. I cut wayy back on the mayo. I rendered out a few strips of bacon and then sauteed red onion, garlic and green pepper. I added a few shots of teriyaki and sesame oil. Omitted the almonds (the kids would never eat it with them) and folded in canned diced carrots and peas before baking. It was wonderfully delicious, but only gave it 4 stars because of the amount of modifications that i made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Good, just half the mayo and milk. You can also make it easier by using one can cream of shrimp mixed with one can milk to make the sauce -which adds more seafood flavor. I also used one box of wild rice pilaf (Near East brand, 6oz) for the rice, which added more color and flavor. Also added 1/2 cup of shredded cheese into the mixture for extra creaminess. Good base recipe and a lot of room for alterations. ***update*** I used the shrimp peel and boiled it in the milk before adding to the rice mixture and it was SUPERB. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
The only problem I had was that with a family of seven to feed the ratio of seafood to rice seemed exorbitant. I multipled the rice by 2.5 and it turned out GREAT! I also used fake crab legs, which were okay but next time I will splurge and use the real stuff, this recipe deserved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Unfortunately this recipe gets an ugh... The mayonnaise really over powers the whole recipe, and it feels like a mish mash of things. Sorry, wouldn't try it again nor recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I liked this recipe. I halved the recipe to three servings, but it made enough for four servings of the size shown in the photo. Instead of a cup of mayo, I only used 2/3 cup, and it tasted fine. However, I still used 10 crackers for the topping, otherwise it would have been rather thin with only five. Some other reviewers stated they found this recipe somewhat bland. This can be offset by simply adding a little lemon juice, to taste, at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I always make this casserole for my non meat-eating friends. I added chopped celery, chopped waterchestnuts, and shredded Monterey Jack cheese to my casserole ingredients. Up until you add the cheese and breadcrumbs, you can easily make this a day ahead. (I personally like this recipe to sit 24 hours to let all the flavors meld.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States