Shrimp and Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Good, just half the mayo and milk. You can also make it easier by using one can cream of shrimp mixed with one can milk to make the sauce -which adds more seafood flavor. I also used one box of wild rice pilaf (Near East brand, 6oz) for the rice, which added more color and flavor. Also added 1/2 cup of shredded cheese into the mixture for extra creaminess. Good base recipe and a lot of room for alterations. ***update*** I used the shrimp peel and boiled it in the milk before adding to the rice mixture and it was SUPERB. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I always make this casserole for my non meat-eating friends. I added chopped celery, chopped waterchestnuts, and shredded Monterey Jack cheese to my casserole ingredients. Up until you add the cheese and breadcrumbs, you can easily make this a day ahead. (I personally like this recipe to sit 24 hours to let all the flavors meld.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was pretty good. I did change the recipe, I used 4-5 cups cooked rice, 2 cups shredded cheese, only 1 1/2 cups mayo, 1 Tbsp of hot pepper sauce, and 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Hey it just needed a little red pepper, a little crushed garlic, and cut back on the milk. I added parmesan cheese with the seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wldcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
The only problem I had was that with a family of seven to feed the ratio of seafood to rice seemed exorbitant. I multipled the rice by 2.5 and it turned out GREAT! I also used fake crab legs, which were okay but next time I will splurge and use the real stuff, this recipe deserved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This has become a favorite recipe. Most recently I used brown instead of white rice and thought it improved both the flavor and texture; slightly nutty and more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Unfortunately this recipe gets an ugh... The mayonnaise really over powers the whole recipe, and it feels like a mish mash of things. Sorry, wouldn't try it again nor recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Skibummer and Petra I completely agree with both of you. Why bother with the recipe, or any recipe on these boards if you don't have the ingredients in the house and substituted this or that. Go out and get your ingredients and THEN write an honest review. If you're on a diet why would you even consider a recipe that calls for full fat this or that, and then complain it's to heavy. Why can't the reviewer at least for the FIRST time making any recipe USE the ingredients and follow the directions and THEN review? I think the best reviews are the ones written that say I tried it exactly as written the first time I made it, but it needed more seasoning, less mayo, whatever. I believe those are the most honest reviews, and the reviews that will help anyone who wants to be a better cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. So does my husband. It freezes well and when heated is wonderful! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
OMG! This was soooo good! Hardly any leftovers. Very easy to make. I used real crab meat. Even good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States