Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I have made this bisque several times now and it is always fantastic. I tend to simplify things so I use a package of imitation lobster in place of the crabmeat and frozen cooked and peeled shrimp. I use extra onion. But the real secret...I use all heavy whipping cream instead of the half-and-half and the wine. It's already low-carb but by using the heavy cream, you can almost eliminate the need for the flour, making it even lower in carbs! Silky smooth and rich. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
My husband and I LOVED this. I couldn't get fresh crab meat, so I used 2 4oz cans. It was wonderful! I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This has quickly become a favorite at our house. I have made it a couple of times and I wouldn't change a thing on the recipe!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Outstanding!! It was the hit of my Christmas brunch. I had a few leftover scallops from another recipe and threw them in too! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
The seafood lovers in my family loved it. I used a lobster bouillon that I found instead of the chicken and it came out great. Quick and very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Very good. Definitely restaurant quality. Added 6 cloves garlic cuz we're garlic freaks. Doubled the recipe except for amount of wine, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Such a great soup!! I cooked this soup in a party and everyone enjoys it a lot! I didn't put crab meat but the taste is delicious! What I would recommend is to boil the shrimp heads seperately and then cook its stock together with all other ingredients. The taste of the shrimp is so rich. The 4-6 servings is really not much so next time I'll scale the recipe to 8 if I were to make for 6. Because everyone wanted to have more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was excellent and so quick to make! We are used to a little more "kick" so we added some black pepper once it was cooked and it was then perfect. We also got a "sweet" taste to it but that was probably because we used imitation lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I made this for Christmas & everyone loved it. I did double it, and I added about 1/2 cup of shrimp broth (simmered the shells). I also added about 7-8 scallops. I did not double to wine. This was a hit & I have had several people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is such a rich and delicious recipe that I feel guilty eating it. I've made this several times using just shrimp, and it's been a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States