Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I have made this bisque several times now and it is always fantastic. I tend to simplify things so I use a package of imitation lobster in place of the crabmeat and frozen cooked and peeled shrimp. I use extra onion. But the real secret...I use all heavy whipping cream instead of the half-and-half and the wine. It's already low-carb but by using the heavy cream, you can almost eliminate the need for the flour, making it even lower in carbs! Silky smooth and rich. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Family loved this recipe!! I skipped the chicken boullion and added an additional 1/2 cup of half & half. I also added 2 tablespoons Old Bay Seasoning and 1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper to spice it up. It was wonderful - I will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was simple and delicious! I doubled the recipe so I had some to freeze. I added some minced garlic to the onion, added a 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, used half fat free half & half, and half regular, and used imitation crabmeat. Before adding the second half of half and half, I used my wand blender, and blended half of the recipe. This was terrific, and I will def. make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a big hit with both my clients and my husband. I too sauteed the onion, with some garlic, before adding the called for ingredients. Also added some scallops, along with cooked potatoes and carrots - which made for a hearty meal. Served with warmed Naan bread. Yum Yum...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was really good. I doubled the recipe and added black ground pepper to give it a little more spice. The only thing I would do differently is omit the salt and only use half the amount of wine. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
My husband and I LOVED this. I couldn't get fresh crab meat, so I used 2 4oz cans. It was wonderful! I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
The flavor was excellent! I would recommend omitting the salt because the bouillion gave it plenty. I also was not sure if I was supposed to use raw or cooked shrimp. I used raw and simmered for 25 minutes. In addition, I spooned some into the blender and it gave it a great texture. I served this Christmas Eve and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
With minor changes, perfect! I used 1/4 cup cream sherry and 1/4 cup water to make up for the 1/4 cup I left out, as well as 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning. I also added 1 stalk celery, sauteed; don't do this, as it added crunchy bits that took away from the overall creamy texture. Loved the soup! Only makes 2 servings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I only had 2-3 bites and threw the rest of my bowl away and my husband thought it was the worst thing I have made in our 17 year marraige. I followed the recipe exactly. I will say that maybe it was the wine that gave it such a bad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is a good basic recipe to start with, but I made several changes. I chopped my onions and then sauteed them in butter & olive oil. Once they were soft, I sprinkled about 1/4 c flour over them and stirred to get it all mixed. Then I added about 1/2 a carton of chicken stock and stirred it until thickened. Then I added the wine and about 2 c of milk until I got the consistency I wanted. I added a whole large can of crab meat and no shrimp, because that was what I had on hand. It turned out WONDERFULLY. My husband and I both loved it. It made about 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States