Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
For this dish, I used one fish bouillon cube and 2 cups of half-and-half. I hate when dishes don't have enough salt, so believe me when I say that this came out too salty even with the increased half-and-half. However, the dish still tasted really good, so I will definitely make this again and just omit the 1/2 tsp salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I have made this bisque several times now and it is always fantastic. I tend to simplify things so I use a package of imitation lobster in place of the crabmeat and frozen cooked and peeled shrimp. I use extra onion. But the real secret...I use all heavy whipping cream instead of the half-and-half and the wine. It's already low-carb but by using the heavy cream, you can almost eliminate the need for the flour, making it even lower in carbs! Silky smooth and rich. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was really good. I doubled the recipe and added black ground pepper to give it a little more spice. The only thing I would do differently is omit the salt and only use half the amount of wine. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I made this for Christmas & everyone loved it. I did double it, and I added about 1/2 cup of shrimp broth (simmered the shells). I also added about 7-8 scallops. I did not double to wine. This was a hit & I have had several people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was excellent and so quick to make! We are used to a little more "kick" so we added some black pepper once it was cooked and it was then perfect. We also got a "sweet" taste to it but that was probably because we used imitation lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Such a great soup!! I cooked this soup in a party and everyone enjoys it a lot! I didn't put crab meat but the taste is delicious! What I would recommend is to boil the shrimp heads seperately and then cook its stock together with all other ingredients. The taste of the shrimp is so rich. The 4-6 servings is really not much so next time I'll scale the recipe to 8 if I were to make for 6. Because everyone wanted to have more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Very good. Definitely restaurant quality. Added 6 cloves garlic cuz we're garlic freaks. Doubled the recipe except for amount of wine, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
The seafood lovers in my family loved it. I used a lobster bouillon that I found instead of the chicken and it came out great. Quick and very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I liked this soup a lot it was easy and fast to make. I also added some clams. Next time I wont add the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Outstanding!! It was the hit of my Christmas brunch. I had a few leftover scallops from another recipe and threw them in too! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States