Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was very good but I would use fresh crab if it's in season. I didn't love the flavor of the canned crab but the company I served this to really enjoyed it. It was also extremely easy to make and quite impressive for company. I defrosted frozen shrimp and then peeled them in advance. I used my kitchen sheers to cut them into small pieces. Everything was pretty much tossed in the pot within a few minutes and it was ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
If you like wine...you'll like this recipe. I added the 1/2 cup of wine as the recipe said. Then, I taste tested it. I ended up adding an extra cup of cream to try to cover up some of the wine taste. My husband hated it as well. I will try this recipe again, but maybe only put 1 Tablespoon of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. I made two changes, one I used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. Second I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. I can't wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was a great, easy recipe. On the advice of other reviewers, I added a little Old Bay seasoning and that made a good bisque great. The recipe didn't call for chopping the seafood but I did, as not doing so would make it kind of wierd. Next time I make this I will finely chop some of the shrimp/crab so it's not so broth vs. chunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I tweaked this recipe so much I'm not going to give an in-depth review, but I'll give it three stars as a good base recipe. The white wine was a lovely touch. If you find the wine taste too sharp let it boil down a little and add a pinch of sugar if you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very good recipe as written but I had to add a bit of cayenne to wake it up. Exceptionally easy to prepare and is ready to eat in minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was simple and delicious! I doubled the recipe so I had some to freeze. I added some minced garlic to the onion, added a 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, used half fat free half & half, and half regular, and used imitation crabmeat. Before adding the second half of half and half, I used my wand blender, and blended half of the recipe. This was terrific, and I will def. make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Added a little curry powder and cayenne, but I imagine quite good even without. Just as good the next day for lunch too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Outstanding. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made it at 4 servings...for 4 people, but there wasn't enough for 4 people, so I made egg noodles with it and we put it over that. I also tried imitation crab...I won't do that again. We loved this recipe. Glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States