Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
The bisque that I ended up with was fantastic. This recipe as is, is just weird to me. As I was preparing it, I was thinking, When do I add water? I looked at the directions and realized that the cream and wine were the only liquids. So my soup was basically a seafood stew? I added some more water (next time I'll just use a can or two of chicken broth instead of boullion), put part of the soup in the food processor so it wasn't quite so chunky, and omitted salt. It was still too salty, so I'll use reduced sodium broth next time around. What I ended up with was fantastic, but this recipe is just not good, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of others and doctored the recipe up a bit (by adding Old Bay, paprika, and a dash of worchestershire). The flavor was great! I used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half and it was very flavorful and RICH! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
With minor changes, perfect! I used 1/4 cup cream sherry and 1/4 cup water to make up for the 1/4 cup I left out, as well as 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning. I also added 1 stalk celery, sauteed; don't do this, as it added crunchy bits that took away from the overall creamy texture. Loved the soup! Only makes 2 servings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I had to add water, more chicken stock, cream and wine to make it add up to four servings. I also had a problem with the blandness of the shrimp. The bisque had wonderful flavor with the added Old Bay, but I would suggest sauteeing the shrimp first in the pot with a couple of seasonings. Remove and proceed as normal. Add the cooked shrimp at the end. But just to throw the shrimp in the bisque raw does nothing for the overall outcome. Will make again in few months ... It's too rich to be a regular menu item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this Bisque on NYE and everyone loved it. I paired it with a hearty bread and I must say it Rocked. I did however omit the salt as I figured seafood is already salty enough. I added a lil more onion and 2 tbsp. of minced garlic to the onion/butter/ flour mixter 1/4 tsp. cayenne peper and 1/4 tsp. old bay to give it some extra flavors. I did a 1/4 cup of white wine and 1/4 cup of chicken stock. I also used heavy whipping cream (fattening I know but well worth it). Next time Im going to make a double batch and freeze half. Definitily need to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great basic soup, and really easy. I decided that I wanted shrimp bisque and was able to make this with things on hand, with the exception of the shrimp and crab. I omitted the wine and bouillon. In place of the bouillon, I added about 1 oz of homemade chicken stock (1 ice cube). That added a little bit of depth to the flavor. I also used about 1 tsp of Old Bay and more onion. I was really pleased with the results, and it was a hit- even with my 3 and 1 year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious. Since we don't drink alcohol, I simmered the shrimp shells in water and Old Bay Seasoning, drained it and used the stock in place of the wine. It was awesome! I cut up the shrimp in small chunks and would recommend you doing that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I loved the recipe, it was a hit, however I have to give it a 4 star since I made some changes. I cut the wine in half (too overpowering), and totally cut out the salt (the bouillon has enough). Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. You need to remember to make a roux at the beginning with the first ingredients in order to get a really good consistency. First melt the butter then GRADUALLY add the rest of the ingredients the result will be a nice heavy thick base for your soup. Tip: I mix all my dry ingredients together and have them ready before I melt the butter then just shake them over the pot to slowly incoperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Made a few changes such as adding nutmeg and old bay. I also only used shrimp. It was delicous and i shall be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe. I followed the recipe as is except for I didn't have any fresh crab meat so I used canned and it still came out awesome. I made it in a bread bowl and it was a big hit. Thankyou for this one--it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States