Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made a couple simple changes. Since I don't like bouillon I substituted 1 can low sodium chicken broth then adjusted the liquids to accommodate the change. To keep it rich I used whipping cream in place of half and half. I also added 2 tsp. of Wye River Seafood Spice and some lobster pieces. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is FABULOUS! made some changes, needed more than what it made. I used 2 pints half & half, 1 fat free and 1 regular. also being a Marylander I omited salt and white pepper, added 1 tbsp Old bay and 3/4 tsp black pepper. Also, half cream sherry half white wine totaling 3/4 Cup. Just for added flare, part green onion, part white onion & 3 cloves fresh garlic This was soooo good it could be served in a resturant! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is awesome! Its extremely simple and easy to add your own touch. I used Pacific Rim Riesling (my fav to drink) and added a little shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNSKYNLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
FANTASTIC!! I AM LEARNING TO COOK AND DECIDED TO TRY THIS.THIS RECIPE IS FOOL PROOF! IT WAS GREAT. I SUBSTITUTED THE SHRIMP WITH EXTRA CRAB. I ADDED CHOPPED BROCCOLI AND CANNED CREAMED CORN. I ALSO DID NOT HAVE ANY WHITE WINE SO I JUST PUT CHICKEN STOCK. THIS IS SOMETHING I AM PROUD TO SHARE WITH MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS .THANK YOU KATRINA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is super delicious. I doubled the recipe and added 2tsp of cayenne pepper to spice it up. I chopped up the shrimps into smaller pieces and added more onion. Oh and I also blend half of the recipe in a blender before adding the remaining half and half as one of the reviews suggested. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
OMG sooo good! Changes I made: used heavy cream w/o flour. Sauted onions, with garlic, red pepper flakes, and pepper in the butter. Added the cream, wine (only 1/4 cup), added chicken bouillon, seafood, heated served. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was an elegant 5-star soup that was the starter course for our Valentine's Day meal. I made the recipe as is although I used fat-free half & half as the cream. I also added a touch of Old Bay since we Marylanders don't eat anything with crab unless it has Old Bay. Thanks for a wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
The bisque that I ended up with was fantastic. This recipe as is, is just weird to me. As I was preparing it, I was thinking, When do I add water? I looked at the directions and realized that the cream and wine were the only liquids. So my soup was basically a seafood stew? I added some more water (next time I'll just use a can or two of chicken broth instead of boullion), put part of the soup in the food processor so it wasn't quite so chunky, and omitted salt. It was still too salty, so I'll use reduced sodium broth next time around. What I ended up with was fantastic, but this recipe is just not good, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of others and doctored the recipe up a bit (by adding Old Bay, paprika, and a dash of worchestershire). The flavor was great! I used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half and it was very flavorful and RICH! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
With minor changes, perfect! I used 1/4 cup cream sherry and 1/4 cup water to make up for the 1/4 cup I left out, as well as 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning. I also added 1 stalk celery, sauteed; don't do this, as it added crunchy bits that took away from the overall creamy texture. Loved the soup! Only makes 2 servings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States