Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was super easy to make. I doubled the recipe, omitted the salt, added more onion, added a tablespoon of minced garlic, added a pinch of black pepper and cayenne, and used light half and half. I also pulsed half of the ingredients in a blender before serving. Served it in a bread bowl It was so delicious! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by portiaconnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I am BRAND new to this cooking thing!!! I generally mess up everything. This bisque was sooooo Delicious! I wanted to make more because the pot went so fast. I only wish there was a recipe to make larger portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very similar to the other Shrimp & Crab Bisque on AR. I've made both and can't tell the difference. All to say that I think the 1/2 cup wine is too much, I did use only about 1/3 cup of white wine and it gave a perfect flavor. We enjoyed this with some toasted french bread and both of us thought it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I added corn. It tasted better than some I've had at restaurants! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I don't put the onion in. I use onion powder instead(as an adult, I still hate the onion crunch) and we use 1lb. crab(with a k) and chop it up finely. We always end up using more pepper; we use both white and black. We also add garlic salt to taste(my family loves garlic). I always add more half/half, after everything is in, it's too thick to eat as soup, but I never measure, I only add until I have the right consistency. We also add at least 1/2 cup of grated parm. This is a fantastic tasting, very easy and fast meal to make(even my 13-year-old can make it by himself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
The only reason why I rated this recipe with four stars is because there is so much more the preparer can do with it to increase the flavor and texture! Like others, I added Old Bay seasoning and sauteed garlic and the onion. I happened to have Cauliflower in my refrigerator that I steamed and chopped to thicken and provide additional texture. In addition, I added a cup of sweet frozen corn, a can of petite diced potatoes, and a pinch of freshly dried thyme. It turned this soup into a great tasting chowder that is typically found in restaurants! Don't be afraid to customize this recipe to your liking with additions like the ones mentioned above. Just a side note, I do believe the flavor of the soup is compromised when using imitation crab meat instead of canned or fresh blue claw crab meat. Most likely I'm partial, since growing up eating crabs on the east coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was the first time I've made bisque and couldn't have picked an easier recipe. I did alter a bit based on another review and added Old Bay and Cayenne. RAVE REVIEWS from my Christmas dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made exactly as described, and it was a huge hit! Only a couple of clarifications: I cut the shrimp into smaller pieces. I used Chardonnay wine. And I used Better than Bouillon from a jar rather than granulated. My people are seafoodies, and they loved it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I absolutley loved this - especially how easy it was. I ended up blending the soup a bit and adding some milk but that's to preference. Next time I'll make 2-3 batches so it lasts longer than 1 lunch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States