Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was really good. Took advice and used only 1/2 the wine ( I had sherry) and it was delish! Also added Old Bay and dash of cayenne paper. Served it with spinach salad and a thick slice of garlic toast. (Used fat free half & half)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Really yummy, and easy to make -- I did spice it up a little with Old Bay's and a little cayenne, but that's just personal preference. I left out the wine because my two guys think they don't like the taste of wine (although they get it often in my cacciatore). I know I'd have liked it even better with the wine taste, so maybe I'll sneak some in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Liked this a lot. I live in Abu Dhabi and used canned crab. It worked very well. I would suggest skipping the salt, for sure. I also would suggest using Chardonnay instead of Sauvignon Blanc as the wine. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was a stellar recipe! I forgot to add the wine, but it was still phenomenal without. I did season to my taste and added a generous amount of old bay and garlic, and a tablespoon more of butter. I used fat free half and half and it was perfect. We ate this with rosemary bread. I was afraid I would net have enough liquid, but it was perfect for 2-3 people if your generous with the portions. Recommend doubling the recipe if you're cooking for more people. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I've made this as written and it's good, with some changes it's great. I saute the onion (more than called for) and some celery in the butter. I then add the white wine and let it reduce a little. I then add flour/half and half or just heavy cream and let it thicken up and then I hit it with the immersion blender so there are no onion or celery chunks. I saute the shrimp in garlic and evoo until they are about half done and then I coarsely chop them and add them to the soup with the crab to let them cook the rest of the way. I also reduce the white pepper to about 1/8 of a teaspoon and add old bay to taste. Sometimes I add a pinch of cayenne. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So disappointed! I followed the recipe as written except I used black pepper and imitation crabmeat. It ended up bland but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is the best crab bisque I have ever made and rivals restaurants. I followed the recipe except ommited the shrimp, and just threw in a bouillon cube. I did double the recipe which was perfect for 4 people. My fiance and future father-in-law really enjoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was super easy to make. I doubled the recipe, omitted the salt, added more onion, added a tablespoon of minced garlic, added a pinch of black pepper and cayenne, and used light half and half. I also pulsed half of the ingredients in a blender before serving. Served it in a bread bowl It was so delicious! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by portiaconnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I am BRAND new to this cooking thing!!! I generally mess up everything. This bisque was sooooo Delicious! I wanted to make more because the pot went so fast. I only wish there was a recipe to make larger portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States