Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I loveeeed this recipe!! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I made a few changes. I used scallops instead of shrimp, about 1/4 cup Chardonnay, 2 tsp cornstarch instead of flour, and half a can of sweet corn. It came out beautifully!! I will def use this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My boyfriend is a big seafood fan and really enjoyed this. We made it using left over king crab and didn't add any shrimp - the other reviews said both were too much. I added a little paprika for color and a little extra flour to thicken it more (as my boyfriend requested) but he decided it would be better the original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe as written, is not to my liking I am sorry to say. The addition of the wine just ruined it, but prior to that it was tasting really good. B/c of this I decided to make it again...The 2nd time around instead of wine I used only 1/8 cup of cream sherry, I also took many of the other reviewers suggestions & added 1t of paprika, black pepper instead of white, cornstarch instead of flour, old bay instead of salt and used only crab, and added a few pinches of parsely. With these changes I give it a solid 5 stars. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was wonderful! Most definitely will make this again. We did follow the base recipe with only a few minor substitutions. To use what we had in the house instead of running to the store to get ingredients, we used canned crab and evaporated milk instead of half and half. We also used Zatarain's creole seasoning instead of salt and some tricolor peppercorns instead of black pepper. We did not measure the white wine, just splashed in what was leftover from the bottle we were drinking. Overall we loved this: It was hearty and flavorful, and wonderful with hot homemade bread. Perfect for this chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Per some of the other reviewers, I doubled the recipe and omitted the wine completely. I added some Old Bay and cayenne. I also added some half n half since it was very thick. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
have cooked this several times. great recipe. added extra seasoning (i.e. old bay and cajun seasoning). also, turned it into a pasta dish by adding a little parmesan, romano, and asiago cheeses. great as bisque or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very Good! I only used 1/4 cup of white wine as suggested by others. I don't like things spicy at all so the pepper was a little much for me, but tolerable. I might put a little less than 1/4 teaspoon next time. It does taste like restaurant creamy crab soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious! I do add additional wine or even water just to make it go further. It taste just like the lobster bisque I had in Key West.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I had a "lent" party at my house on Friday evening and made this for my guests. Everyone LOVED it. The recipe is a little too think for my liking so I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream. I also used the fake crab meat in the packages next to the deli. It was REALLY good and will for sure be making again. Thank you for a easy and delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! (Saute the onions first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States