Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and i tried this last night and LOVED it. My hubby is a big fan of bisque and crab, so i figured this was a good combo to try out while he was feeling under the weather. I used fresh real crab meat and small frozen, pre-cooked shrimp. I followed the recipe exact with the exception of the wine, which because so many previous reviewers had reduced it to 1/4 cup i decided to hit in somehwere in the middle and used 1/3 cup chardonnay. It turned out BEAUTIFULLY. My husband and i LOVED the difference in textures with the shrimp and crab. I left the shrimp whole. Nice and rich and delicious!! I do agree that serving size is quite small. It must be an appetizer because as a main course there is only enough to serve 2, which was perfect for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I omitted the shrimp and was worried that i didn't have enough crab meat because I didn't replace the omitted shrimp with more crab. In the end though, it was WAAAAY too much crab. It was more "mushy" than "soupy". Next time I will 1/2 the amount of crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made this with just crab, a nice white wine (gewurztraminer), and served it in a sourdough bowl. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Amazing! I cut the wine down to just over 1/4 cup and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made this for deer camp. It is very simple as is but I added celery and cayenne pepper and added chicken stock in place of the wine and quadrupled the amounts for a big pot. a loaf of garlic bread made for a great dinner after hunting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by can'tcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Added Old Bay, paprika, 1 tbsp. tomato paste, garlic powder, sauteed celery a can of mushroom soup. Substituted dry sherry for the white wine. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANBRINKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I'm only giving 4 stars because I didn't follow the exact recipe. But mmmmm it was GOOD! I used only crab and used green onion and added a clove of garlic. I also added some paprika and some Old Bay. We'll be eating this again and again this winter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Photo by KCollins
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is wonderfully simple and delicious! I was looking for an easy and quick recipe for a seafood bisque that I could make with things on hand. I wasn't sure if it would be as good as a more complicated recipe, but it is perfect! I didn't have white wine, so with a little uncertainty, I substituted chicken stock. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great recipe. We did add a can of condensed mushroom soup and cut down on the half and half. Also added extra crab and just a little shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
turned out fantastic. I agree it only makes two servings though but that was okay because I expected it. I only used crab & doubled the crab, only used 1/4 cup of white wine and added garlic & old bay seasoning. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States