Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe!! I agree with another review that said if they had tried this before having bisque soups at restaurants they would have never tried another bisque soup. I have nothing good to say about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Like a few other folks, I added a bit more half & half because I had a lot more crabmeat and shrimp than the recipe asked for. This was delicious. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is really good. My sweetie and I use to live in Maryland and have had Bisque from several very good restaurants. This could easily compete but as so many have already said, it is not enough for 6. I doubled it and it was just enough for 4. I added Paprika, saute'd shallots and scallions to the recipe and used only 1/2 the wine. It was great. We all loved it with some cheddar biscuits and will sleep very well tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CamilleYoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe, and it was a hit! I got some crab cake (very lumpy) from a Greek restaurant. Since I didn't like the strong smell of the crab, I decided to make it a bisque. While I was cooking it according to this recipe, I did notice that the portion of ingredients should be adjusted to match personal taste. First, I would use half or 3/4 of the chicken bullion - it was way too salty. At the end, I have to salvage the soup by adding 1 cup of milk to dilute the salty taste. Second, I also recommend to replace 1/2 cup of the half and half cream to milk, so that it won't be that fattening (and it still tastes just as good as the restaurant). Third, I recommend to use bigger(21-25 shrimps per pound), raw, tail-on shrimps. I got them from Costco, and for some reason, the smaller shrimps just don't have the seafood taste. Fourth, I add a stick of chopped celery in the bisque. Fifth, I also add one bay leaf. Sixth, I cooked everything for a total of 30 minutes. This is a really good recipe, and you just have to sample it whenever you add another ingredient to match it to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Yummy! Awesome soup for a cold Fall/Winter dinner. Crusty rolls and a nice salad, and you will have a perfect, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Not as good as I expected but still tasted nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I love this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add the wine at the beginning so that the alcohol taste cooks out and the richness of the soup is enhanced as the wine cooks. I also added some paprika and used 100% crab meat. This is DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of wine. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and i tried this last night and LOVED it. My hubby is a big fan of bisque and crab, so i figured this was a good combo to try out while he was feeling under the weather. I used fresh real crab meat and small frozen, pre-cooked shrimp. I followed the recipe exact with the exception of the wine, which because so many previous reviewers had reduced it to 1/4 cup i decided to hit in somehwere in the middle and used 1/3 cup chardonnay. It turned out BEAUTIFULLY. My husband and i LOVED the difference in textures with the shrimp and crab. I left the shrimp whole. Nice and rich and delicious!! I do agree that serving size is quite small. It must be an appetizer because as a main course there is only enough to serve 2, which was perfect for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I omitted the shrimp and was worried that i didn't have enough crab meat because I didn't replace the omitted shrimp with more crab. In the end though, it was WAAAAY too much crab. It was more "mushy" than "soupy". Next time I will 1/2 the amount of crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States