Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I didn't like this recipe too much. I must admit I tried to change it as I went along because I found it more like a thick sauce than a bisque. I also didn't like the wine since I think sherry suits crab better. None of us could finish a bowl since it was so very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I did not even taste because I was so full from everything else but my family rated this a 5. Very easy to make. I used a good Chardonay, Will add to my recipe collection. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great recipe but it is too thick. I like to thin it out with extra half and half or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
although i had trouble with the crab meat (full of shells), the bisque part is pretty good. very dairy-fied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLICKAC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I always double this recipe using a 1lb can of crab available at Costco and 1lb bag of frozen salad shrimp. I skip the wine and make up for it with 1/2 and 1/2, then thin it out with a cup or 2 of nonfat milk. It's always a crowd pleaser. It tastes like tons more effort is involved than actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was so simple and yummy! I added old bay seasoning and a shot of tabasco for added flavor, but even without, you can't beat such an easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe was very good. i took the hints of many; omitted the salt, added cayenne and old bay. i also added minced garlic and parsley flakes. i dont deal in alcohol, so instead of the wine, i used a chicken stock that i flavor enhanced with a tsp of worcestershire sauce. And i served it over pasta. my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I have made this soup several times. It is very tasty and simple to make. I always double the recepie because I know it will always go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Diggity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This is a good base recipe. I ended up adding canned whole clams, and lobster tail (chunked up). In addition to that, I used 1 TBS. of "Better Than Bouillion" Lobster base (purchased from the grocery store in the soup aisle, next to the bouillion cubes) rather than chicken bouillion. It made ALL the difference in the world as far as taste goes. I served this with a fresh spinach salad and crusty French rolls. Like I said, this is a great base recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was the first time making a soup and it came out great. The only thing that the recipe lacked was basil. The wine was a little overpowering for my taste so I would probably add less next time. The only other problem was the serving amounts, it says 6 serving but it only comes out to about 3 servings at best. Next time I will have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States