Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was incredible! I modified to reduce fat by using 3/4 c half and half, 1 1/4c skim milk and 1/4 c wine and the thickness or flavor was perfectly fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I added my own twist to this recipe, but it taste great on it's own. I'm a garlic lover so I added garlic and thinned the recipe down a little bit with chicken stock. My family ate the whole pot. It goes really well with a garlic toasted baguette to dip or put in as croutons in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Utt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! I took the suggestions of others and added Old Bay seasoning and cream cheese. I also used garlic instead of onion and imitation crab instead of real. To keep the calories down I used fat free half and half. Definitely a recipe you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Made this recipe exactly as described and it was delicious. Follow the recipe, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was pretty good. I used paprika to add the pink color to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Excellent starter recipe. I doubled it and used 8oz crab & 1 lb shrimp. I added some cajun seasoning and about 4 oz of cream cheese cut into tiny cubes, melted into the soup. My husband raved, and he NEVER raves!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was excellent. I subbed 1/2 c. milk for part of the half and half, and it was still very rich, FULL of seafood, and could probably be watered down with more milk to extend the servings. I used 1/2 pkg of imitation crab, and loaded up on the shrimp. After reading the reviews regarding portion size, I went ahead and made it for 6, and it fed my husband (who had seconds), my toddler and myself with a small portion left over. It was not enough for 6 adults unless made into appetizer servings. We had it for dinner with some crusty french bread. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This soup is truly tasty and great! I subsituted the half and half for milk to lighten up the calories a bit. Absolutely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Wonderful recipe. Very easy to prepare. I substitututed 1/4 cup sherry for the wine and used a bit more butter. I also minced the shrimp. Everyone loves this recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Sorry, but I thought this was awful. I prepared according to directions, except I halved the wine. To try to make it better, I added extra half and half, milk, two american cheese slices, and multiple seasonings (cajun, garlic, bay leaf, black pepper, parsley). Only after all this, did I find it edible. I wouldn't even call it a good base recipe. The wine taste was still strong, even after adding all the extra ingredients and only using half the amount called for. I was hoping for a quick and easy recipe that was good. It was quick and easy, but not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States