Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love crab but I wasn't fussy on this at all. It's probably just me. I used sherry instead of wine and omitted the shrimp, just put in crab. I found the soup to be a little bitter. I wish I had enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peekie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Very tasty and so easy to make. My husband and I both liked it. I wasn't sure what type of wine to use, so I made it with chardonnay. May add a little more wine next time for some extra punch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was great. I made it the second time without the shrimp, just more crab, and liked it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this Feb. 10/07 for a dinner party for 12 and it was a hit! I served it as an appetizer with fresh bread. Thanks to the reviews, I omitted the shrimp, loaded up on the frozen crab meat, added crushed garlic (cooked down in the butter), black pepper instead of white, cornstarch instead of flour sherry instead of white wine. I used lactose free milk instead and a dollop of half and half. I forgot to add the chicken base but found that I didn't need it. Thanks a million!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I want to say that last night, 2/10/07, I surprised my husband with an early Valentine's dinner by making this delightful dish and I must say that I chose the right recipe. I.... I don't know what else to say but much praise for this dish. YUM!!! YUM!!! YUM!!!Y-U-U-UM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
So good! I didn't have any fresh crabmeat so I just doubled the shrimp and ended up with a rich and creamy shrimp bisque! I did substitute a half cup of the half and half with heavy cream too. I've never made a bisque before, so thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I have to say that this recipe is delicious and darned near fool-proof! I took almost EVERYone's suggestions, and it still came out glorious. I used fresh Jonah crabmeat and minced shrimp (although I now agree with other reviewers who said, "Use one or the other seafood, not both." The textures do not mesh well, at least not for me.) I increased both the butter and flour to 3T, and added one pressed clove of garlic as the butter melted on low heat (caution: do NOT allow the garlic to turn brown; it becomes bitter, and will ruin the whole thing) and stirred in the flour as the garlic became fragrant. Added a little onion powder and some parsley mixed in the flour, and used chicken base, as that is what I had on hand. I split the difference with the wines; I added 1/4 cup of each! After the second adding of half and half, I customized the seasonings for our taste -- paprika for colour, Old Bay, and a dash of cayenne. Fabulous, fabulous, FABULOUS recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
It was great. I forgot to get the wine but I added a can of tomato soup. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was a wonderful base to start experimenting with. We tried this recipe last night. After some changes we think we have found the perfect cream of crab soup. Being Marylanders we know cream of crab! Our changes – no salt, we used black pepper instead of white, 1 tablespoon of onion, leave out the shrimp – we tried it with and without, ¼ pound crab meat is enough, used 1/8 cup regular sherry (not cooking sherry) instead of the wine which really doesn't go with crab like sherry does and Old Bay sprinkled on top. With these changes it really is as good as the cream of crab soup you find at the best Maryland restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was so easy, quick and simply fabulous!!! The reviews were helpful, I added 1t seafood seasoning, 1T additonal butter and flour, 1/3c fat free milk to dilute. I also used 1/4c of sherry instead of the whitewine and a crushed a bullion cube instead of the granulated bullion. This would impress any guest, a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States